USA Triathlon announces team for Worlds

The 2013 ITU Para-Triathlon World Championships will take place in London, Great Britain on 13 September. 16 Aug 2013
A picture of a woman with a prosthesis wearing an American flag to celebrate her victory

USA's Melissa Stockwell winning the TRI-2 race during the ITU Para-Triathlon World Championships in Auckland, New Zealand.

ⒸUSA Triathlon
By USA Triathlon

Click here to view the full team roster.

USA Triathlon has announced the top para-triathletes in seven classifications on its national and world teams, which will represent the country in London, Great Britain at the 2013 ITU Para-Triathlon World Championships on 13 September.

The 15 members of the national team have combined for 24 medals and 12 world titles at the World Championships since 2006. They also have combined for 31 national titles at USA Para-Triathlon National Championships since 2009, with 13 earning victories at the 2013 event in Austin, Texas.

In addition to successes in triathlon, members of this year’s USA Paratriathlon National Team also have represented the US at the Paralympic Games in swimming, cycling and track and field.

“We are proud to have such a strong U.S. team heading into ITU Paratriathlon World Championships next month,” said Rob Urbach, USA Triathlon CEO. “We look forward to more top performances in London from this talented group as we continue to expand our para-triathlon high performance programme to better prepare athletes for the sport’s debut at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.”

Multiple-time world champions named to the 2013 National Team include Megan Fisher (TRI-5), Beth Price (TRI-3), Aaron Scheidies (TRI-6b), Melissa Stockwell (TRI-2) and JP Theberge (TRI-5). Other world medallists on the squad include 2007 world champion and four-time medal winner David Kyle (TRI-3), two-time bronze medallist Patricia Walsh (TRI-6a) and Geoffrey Kennedy (TRI-1), who won bronze in 2012 in Auckland.

Along with Kennedy, Price, Stockwell and Walsh, three-time national champion Mark Barr (TRI-2, Houston, Texas) and 2012 TRI-1 national title winner Erica Davis (Carlsbad, Calif.) return to the Paratriathlon National Team for the second straight year.

Joining the ranks of the USA para-triathlon national team for the first time are Diane Berberian (TRI-6b), Tisa Cawthon (TRI-4), Chris Hammer (TRI-4), Jacqui Kapinowski (TRI-1) and Krige Schabort (TRI-1).

USA Triathlon also announced the nearly 50 athletes who will don the red, white and blue on 13 September for the World Championships. Click here to view the full team roster.