Wheelchair Rugby Americas Zone Championships to Kick Off

20 Sep 2011 By IPC

Teams from six different North and South American countries will take part in the Wheelchair Rugby Americas Zone Championships beginning on Wednesday (21 September) in Bogota, Colombia, competing for qualification spots for the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

The USA qualified automatically for London 2012 after winning the World Championships in Vancouver, Canada, in 2010, but one more berth will be up for grabs at the Championships in Bogota.

At the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games, the USA struck gold and Canada took bronze. The USA then won the 2009 Americas Zone Championships and the 2010 World Championships and will be the clear favourite this week in Bogota.

Here is the schedule for the Championships. (All times COT.)

Wednesday (21 September)

12:00 USA vs. Mexico

14:00 Canada vs. Argentina

18:00 Colombia vs. Brazil

Thursday (22 September)

10:00 USA vs. Colombia

12:00 Canada vs. Brazil

14:00 Argentina vs. Mexico

16:00 USA vs. Brazil

18:00 Colombia vs. Mexico

Friday (23 September)

10:00 Canada vs. Mexico

12:00 USA vs. Argentina

14:00 Canada vs. Colombia

16:00 Brazil vs. Argentina

Saturday (24 September)

12:00 Brazil vs. Mexico

14:00 Argentina vs. Colombia

16:00 Canada vs. USA