Wheelchair Rugby Rankings List Released

12 Nov 2009 By IPC

The official International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) World Ranking List has been released by the organization, and became effective on 9 November.

The 24 countries listed in order are:

1. United States

2. Australia

3. Canada

4. Belgium

5. New Zealand

6. Sweden

7. Japan

8. Germany

9. Great Britain

10. Poland

11. Finland

12. Switzerland

13. Austria

14. Denmark

15. Ireland

16. Czech Republic

17. Netherlands

18. Korea

19. South Africa

20. France

21. Argentina

22. Brazil

23. China

24. Norway

This list reflects the results from the 2009 International Wheelchair and Amputee Sports Federation (IWAS) Wheelchair Rugby Americas Zone Championships and the 2009 IWAS Wheelchair Rugby Asia-Oceania Zone Championships. The country Argentina has been added to this list of internationally active countries following their first participation in a sanctioned international competition.

According to IWRF Competition Regulations, countries which fail to attend Zone Championships for which they have qualified will be places on the World Ranking List below all countries which did attend.

As there are no other sanctioned events taking place before the close of qualification, this list will be used to create the Qualification List for the 2010 Wheelchair Rugby World Championships.