2017 Paralympic Sport Awards: Best Male Debut Nominees Video

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has announced the athletes who have made the shortlist in the Best Male Debut category for the 2017 Paralympic Sport Awards, partnered by Allianz, recognising the achievements from the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

The awards will be presented in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, on 7 September during the IPC General Assembly in the following categories: Best Male, Best Female, Best Team, Best Male Debut and Best Female Debut.

The shortlist for the Best Male Debut category is as follows:

Laurens Devos (Belgium)
The 16-year-old became the youngest Paralympic champion in table tennis after winning the men’s singles class 9 without dropping a single set.

Alfie Hewett (Great Britain)
The 18-year-old won silver in both the men’s singles and doubles, beating a number of higher-ranked wheelchair tennis players along the way.

Liam Malone (New Zealand)
The T43 blade runner medalled in all of his races, taking gold in the men’s 200m and 400m, and silver in the 100m.