2017 Paralympic Sport Awards: Best Female nominees

Awards recognising achievements at Rio 2016 will be presented during IPC General Assembly 29 Aug 2017 By IPC

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has announced the athletes who have made the shortlist in the Best Female category for the 2017 Paralympic Sport Awards, partnered by Allianz, recognising the achievements from the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

The awards will be presented in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, on 7 September during the IPC General Assembly in the following categories: Best Male, Best Female, Best Team, Best Male Debut and Best Female Debut.

The shortlist for the Best Female category is as follows:

Omara Durand (Cuba)

The world’s fastest female Paralympian won a trio of gold medals, smashing her own world record in the 100m (11.40 seconds) and 400m T12 (51.77). Durand also set a Paralympic record of 23.05 in the 200m T12.

Tatyana McFadden (USA)

Arguably the greatest wheelchair racer of all time medalled in all of her six events, taking with her four golds in the women’s 400m, 800m, 1,500m, 5,000m T54 and two silvers in the 100m and marathon T54.

Sarah Storey (Great Britain)

The former swimmer became the most decorated British Paralympian after winning a hat-trick of cycling titles on the road and at the velodrome, in Rio. Storey topped the podium in the women’s road race C4-5, time trial C5 and 3,000m individual pursuit C5.