2017 Paralympic Sport Awards: Best Team nominees

Awards recognising achievements at Rio 2016 will be presented during IPC General Assembly 30 Aug 2017 By IPC

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has announced the teams who have made the shortlist in the Best Team category for the 2017 Paralympic Sport Awards, partnered by Allianz, recognising the achievements from the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

The awards will be presented in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, on 7 September during the IPC General Assembly in the following categories: Best Male, Best Female, Best Team, Best Male Debut and Best Female Debut.

The shortlist for the Best Team category is as follows:

Australia wheelchair rugby

In a dramatic finish, Australia defeated the USA 59-58 in double overtime to become the first team to win back-to-back Paralympic titles in the sport.

Brazil football-5-a-side

Lived up to the expectations, claiming the fourth consecutive Paralympic gold medal and maintaining a 100 per cent record at Paralympic Games.

Turkey women’s goalball

In their first appearance at a Paralympic Games, Turkey upset favourites and three-time Paralympic silver medallists China 4-1 to claim their maiden Paralympic title.