IPC Swimming World Championships
12-18 August

Australia aim to stay number one in Montreal

Australia name strong team for 2013 IPC Swimming World Championships 06 May 2013
A picture of a man holding the swimming cap in his hand

Cowdrey celebrates after winning the gold in the Men’s 50m Freestyle - S9 on London Paralympics

ⒸGetty Images

With 18 Paralympic gold, seven silver and 13 bronze medals between them, the Australian team named for August's 2013 IPC Swimming World Championships in Montreal, Canada is hoping to maintain its place as the number one nation in international para-swimming.

Swimming Australia announced a 19-strong squad following selection trials at the Australian Swimming Championships in Adelaide last week, where London Paralympians Blake Cochrane, Maddison Elliott and Daniel Fox broke an impressive three world records* to ensure their selection.

Joining them is Australia’s most successful Paralympian Matt Cowdrey, who will swim at his fourth World Championships along with four-time London gold medallist Ellie Cole, who is currently overcoming a niggling shoulder injury.

Freestyle specialist Brenden Hall will look to defend his 400m freestyle S9 world title while dual Paralympic silver medallist Taylor Corry will be looking to turn silver into gold in her S14 events for athletes with an intellectual impairment.

While the team heading to Montreal is 14 short of the dominating team that competed in London, Swimming Australia’s high performance director of Paralympic swimming, Adam Pine says he is happy with the team he will take to his first international competition as head of the program.

The IPC Swimming World Championships will take place from 12-18 August, 2013.


Tim Antalfy (NSW)

Blake Cochrane (Qld)

Matthew Cowdrey (SA)

Rowan Crothers (Qld)

Richard Eliason (ACT)

Daniel Fox (Qld)

Matt Haanappel (Vic)

Brenden Hall (Qld)

Matthew Levy (NSW)

Grant Patterson (Qld)

Rick Pendleton (Qld)

Sean Russo (NSW)

Kayla Clarke (Qld)

Ellie Cole (Vic)

Taylor Corry (NSW)

Katherine Downie (WA)

Maddison Elliott (NSW)

Amanda Fowler (NSW)

Teigan Van Roosmalen (NSW)

* World records subject to IPC Swimming ratification