Australia Rio 2016 Para cycling team announced

Reigning Paralympic and World champions will headline the Australian Para Cycling Team at September’s Paralympic Games. 04 Jun 2016
Australian cyclist behind Italian cyclist

Australia's Michael Gallagher competing at the London 2012 Paralympic Games

ⒸHannah Peters
By NPC Australia

The National Paralympic Committee of Australia announced the 13 athletes and three sighted pilots that will comprise the Para cycling team at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.


Five-time Paralympic gold medallist Kieran Modra, who will compete at his eighth Games in Rio, and London 2012 champion Sue Powell will spearhead the team, which aims to cement itself as one of the world’s best.


“The talent on this team is enormous, which is evident in the fact that nearly every athlete has won either a Paralympic or World Championships medal,” said Australia’s Rio 2016 Chef de Mission Kate McLoughlin.


“I am confident that the 2016 cycling team is one of the strongest Australia has ever produced and am looking forward to seeing the team aim for a top three finish on the track, and to be amongst the top 10 in road cycling.”


Kieran Modra first competed at a Paralympic Games at Seoul 1988 in athletics. He then transferred to swimming for Barcelona 1992 before making his cycling debut at Atlanta 1996.


The 44-year-old has come out of retirement now with the sole purpose to enhance his already formidable Paralympic record.


“It has been an honour to take home a medal at nearly every Games,” he said.


“Like every athlete, I am absolutely chasing gold. But what I am most excited about is putting all my training together to seek a personal best.


“Standing on the podium is a great honour. I was fortunate enough to do really well at the last Games, and I would be fortunate to stand on that podium again.”


Reigning Paralympic champion Sue Powell also shared his pride of being part of the Rio 2016 team: “Being a Paralympian means personal excellence, regardless of what I can or cannot do.


“I still get goose bumps when I see my footage from my gold medal final in the pursuit from London. I get feelings of pride, relief and awe of what can be accomplished when you really commit 100 per cent to something.


“It will be the same in Rio. I expect to turn up in the best form of my life, ready to put down my absolute best performance on the day when it counts.”


The Rio team will also feature two debutants: world champions Alistair Donohoe and Kyle Bridgwood.


Australia won six gold, four silver and four bronze Para cycling medals at London 2012 and will try in Rio to outdo that performance.


Full team


Kieran Modra


Michael Gallagher


David Nicholas


Stuart Tripp


Kyle Bridgwood


Alistair Donohoe


Matt Formston


Jessica Gallagher


Carol Cooke


Simone Kennedy


Alexandra Lisney


Susan Powell


Amanda Reid


David Edwards (pilot for Kieran Modra)


Nick Yallouris (pilot for Matthew Formston)


Madison Janssen (pilot for Jessica Gallagher)




Sport fans from around the world can now buy their Paralympic tickets for Rio 2016 from authorised ticket resellers (ATRs).


The IPC’s Global ATR is Jet Set Sports, and Rio 2016 tickets and packages can be purchased on the CoSport website.


Residents of Brazil can buy 2016 Paralympics tickets directly from the Rio 2016 website.