Germany shines at UCI Para cycling Road World Cup

Germany’s cyclists won ten golds at the second leg of the Road World Cup series, held in Ostend, Belgium, from 20-22 May. 23 May 2016
Man on tricycle racing on the road

Germany's Hans-Peter Durst is one of the favourites for the World Championships

ⒸJean-Baptiste Benavent/UCI

Germany claimed ten golds to top the medals table at the second leg of the 2016 Para cycling Road World Cup, in Ostend, Belgium, from 20-22 May.

In the men’s C1 category, Germany’s Pierre Senska finished first in the road race, whilst teammate Michael Teuber claimed the time trial.

Vico Merklein cycled to victory twice in the H4 category, same as Hans-Peter Durst in the T2.

In the women’s events, Denise Schindler (C3), Christiane Reppe (H4) and Andrea Eskau (H5) won their respective road races, whilst Dorothee Vieth (H5) claimed the time trial victory.

Netherlands’ Timo Fransen and Vincent Ter Schure won the men’s Tandem B road race and time trial events. Teammates Mischa Hielkema and Jetze Plat added two golds to Netherlands’ win list in the H3 road race and the H5 time trial, respectively.

In the women’s H2 road race, compatriot Carmen Koedood finished first.

USA ended with six golds. William Groulx (H2) followed-up his time trial triumph with another win in the road race. In the women’s events, Allison Jones (C2), Jamie Whitmore (C3) and Megan Fisher (C4) won their respective time trial events, whilst Shawn Morelli (C4) took gold in the road race.

Italy’s double Paralympic champion Alex Zanardi (H5) claimed the men’s road race victory, whilst teammate Francesca Porcellato earned double gold in the women’s H3. Italy also won the team relay event.

Canada’s gold-medal winners were Tristen Chernove (C2) in the men’s road race and time trial, and Charles Moreau (H3) in the time trial, whilst Shelley Gautier (T1) added two first-place finishes among women.

Other double-winners in the women’s events were Ireland’s Eve McCrystal and Katie-George Dunlevy (Tandem B), China’s Jieli Li (C1), Poland’s Anna Harkowska (C5) and Australia’s Carol Cooke (T2).

Brazil’s Lauro Cesar Chaman (C5), France’s Quentin Aubague (T1) and Slovakia’s Jozef Metelka (C4) won two golds each among the men.

In the men’s C3, Belgium’s Kris Bosmans won the road race and Ireland’s Eoghan Clifford the time trial. In the H1, Czech Republic’s Patrik Jahoda finished first in the road race, same as Austria’s Ernst Bachmaier in the time trial.

China’s Sini Zeng won the C2 women’s road race, South Korea’s Mikyoung Jeon took gold in the H2 time trial and Switzerland’s Sandra Graf claimed the H4 time trial victory.

Spain will host the third and final leg of the UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup between 15-17 July.

Check the full results here.