Brazil sends strong team to Paris and Berlin

Paralympic champions to compete at European Grand Prix 07 Jun 2018
a male Para sprinter crosses the finish line

Paralympic and world champion Petrucio Ferreira will compete at two European Grand Prix

ⒸGetty Images

The Brazilian Paralympic Committee (CPB) has announced a strong delegation for the World Para Athletics Grand Prix in Paris, France and Berlin, Germany in June. The team will be split in two groups. One of them, featuring some of the most successful Brazilian athletes, will take part in both competitions. The second group will only compete in Berlin.

Paralympic and world champion and world record holder in the men’s T47 100m Petrucio Ferreira is one of the 20 athletes competing at both Grand Prix. The team also includes throwers Claudiney dos Santos, Andre Rocha and Elizabeth Gomes who all broke world records* last weekend at Brazil’s National Circuit meeting in Sao Paulo.

Paralympic champion dos Santos increased the men’s discus F56 record by more than one metre, while Andre Rocha registered a record-breaking mark in the men’s shot put F53. Elizabeth Gomes set new world records in both the women’s shot put F52 and discus F52.

The Paris Grand Prix will take place from 14-15 June and the Berlin Grand Prix from 30 June-1 July. The Brazilian athletes competing in both events will stay in Leipzig, Germany, where they will train between the two Grand Prix.

*All world records are subject to ratification by World Para Athletics

Brazilian team for Paris GP and Berlin GP:

Alessandro da Silva – men’s discus F11

Andre Rocha – men’s shot put F53

Elizabeth Gomes – women’s discus F52

Petrucio Ferreira – men’s 100m T47

Vinicius Rodrigues – men’s 100m T63

Cicero Valdiran – men’s javelin F57

Mateus Evangelista – men’s 100m T37

Thiago Paulino – shot put F57

Daniel Martins – men’s 400m T20

Lucas Prado – men’s 100 T11

Joeferson Marinho de Oliveira – men’s 100m T12

Felipe Gomes – men’s 100m T11

Claudiney dos Santos – men’s discus F56

Julio Cesar Agripino – men’s 5000m T11

Edson Pinheiro – men’s 100m T38

Silvania Costa – women’s long jump T11

Fabio Bordignon – men’s 100m T35

Emicarlo de Souza – men’s 400m T37

Thalita Simplicio – women’s 400m T11

Washington do Nascimento Jr – men’s 100m T47

Athletes competing only at the Berlin GP:

Ketyla Teodoro – women’s 400m T12

Marivana Oliveira – women’s shot put T35

Raissa Machado – women’s javelin T56

Caio Pereira – men’s shot put T12

Tascitha Oliveira – women’s 100m T36

Ricardo Oliveira – men’s long jump T11

Fabricio Ferreira – men’s 100m T12

Yohansson do Nascimento – men’s 100m T47

Diogo Ualisson – men’s 100m T12

Jerusa dos Santos – women’s 100m T11

Kesley Teodoro – men’s 100m T13

Vitor Antonio de Jesus – men’s 200m T37

Renato de Oliveira – men’s 400m T12

Gustavo Araujo – men’s 100m T13

Teresinha dos Santos – women’s 400m T47

Thomaz Ruan de Moraes – men’s 400m T47

Viviane Soares – women’s 100m T12

Ariosvaldo Fernandes – men’s 100m T53

Daniel Mendes – men’s 400m T11

Rayane Soares – women’s 400m T13