British Cycling names funded athletes

Sarah Storey, Jody Cundy and Mark Colbourne will all be a part of British Cycling’s Podium Programme this year. 01 May 2013
Sarah Storey wins third London 2012 gold

Great Britain's Sarah Storey poses after winning her third gold of London 2012 in the road cycling time trial.

ⒸGetty Images
By British Cycling

“Overall, I think we’re in a good place on the pathway to Rio.”

British Cycling has confirmed which Paralympic programme riders will receive funding to represent Great Britain during the 2013 funding year.

Twenty para-cyclists will be a part of their Podium Programme, three will be a part of their Academy Programme, and eight will make up their new Development Programme.

The Podium Programme includes London 2012 stars Sarah Storey, Jody Cundy and Mark Colbourne, among others.

British Cycling Performance Director Dave Brailsford said: “The para-cycling squad is looking good for 2013, with the podium programme now comprising of long-standing athletes such as Dame Sarah Storey and Jody Cundy, and new athletes such as Mark Colbourne, who made a fantastic Paralympic debut after less than 18 months training with the squad.

“It’s good to see former Academy sprint cyclist Pete Mitchell make the switch to tandem pilot and I’m looking forward to seeing how he develops over the next couple of years.

“Overall, I think we’re in a good place on the pathway to Rio.”

Here’s the complete list of funded athletes:

Podium Programme

Jon Allan Butterworth

Mark Colbourne

Jody Cundy

Karen Darke

Fiona Duncan

Neil Fachie

Anthony Kappes

Darren Kenny

Crystal Lane

Craig MacLean

Aileen McGylnn

Shaun McKeown

Pete Mitchell

Rachel Morris

Jason Queally

Helen Scott

David Stone

Dame Sarah Storey

Lauryn Therin

Lora Turnham

Academy Programme

Brian Alldis

Terry Byrne

Rhiannon Henry

Development Programme

Megan Boyd

Matt Ellis

Corrine Hall

Andy Kelsey

Simon Price

Sophie Thornhill

Jaco Van Gass

Jonathan Wren

Related Images