Colombia names team for Doha 2015

Maritza Arango, Juan Moreno and Juan Medina headline the Colombian team of nine athletes for October's IPC Athletics World Championships. 28 Sep 2015
Blindfolded man throwing a shot put

Yesenia Restrepo Munoz (Colombia) competing in the Women's Shot Put F11/12 in Toronto at the 2015 Parapan American Games.

Ⓒ2015 Jon Blacker
By Hernan Goldzycher | for the IPC

Colombia has announced the nine athletes that will represent the country at the 2015 IPC Athletics World Championships to be held in Doha, Qatar, from 21-31 October.

The selection follows a strong performance by the Colombian team at August’s Parapan Am Games in Toronto, Canada, where they excelled, winning a total of 40 medals (seven gold, 17 silver, 16 bronze).

Maritza Arango will go for a medal in the women’s 800m and the 1,500m T11, having clinched 800m silver two years ago. “Both are tough races but I really hope I can climb onto the podium for the third consecutive time,” she said.

Colombia is also confident of landing a medal in the 200m and the 400m T36, both through Americas record holder Juan Moreno. Parapan American bronze medallist Juan Medina is one to look out for in the 1,500m T38.

After winning a silver medal in the women’s discus throw F11/12 at Toronto 2015, Yesenia Restrepo is hopeful of further success in Doha. “I am very happy and excited. These are my third World Championships and I have high expectations. I hope I can outdo my previous performances and qualify for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games,” she said.

Other athletes hoping to add to Colombia’s medal haul include: Dixon Hooker, gold medallist in the 400m T38 at Toronto 2015 and shot putter Edwin Rodríguez, bronze medallist at the IPC Athletics World Championships in New Zealand four years ago.

Full team


Dixon Hooker: 200m and 400m T38

Juan Carlos Medina: 1500m T38

Edwin Rodríguez: shot put and discus throw F11

Mauricio Valencia: shot put and javelin throw F34

Juan Moreno: 200m and 400m T36

José Belizario: discus throw and javelin throw F11

Jonathan Sánchez: guide


Maritza Arango: 800m and 1500m T11

Yesenia Restrepo: discus throw and javelin throw F11