Dias and Boggioni win inaugural World Series titles

Great Britain finish as top team at first World Para Swimming World Series 12 Jul 2017
two para swimmers standing

Italy's Monica Boggioni and Brazil's Daniel Dias have won the first World Para Swimming World Series titles.


Daniel Dias and Monica Boggioni have won the individual titles at the first World Para Swimming World Series following the circuit´s last event in Berlin, Germany.

The overall rankings are calculated using a points system which considers each swimmer´s best performance at a single World Series event.

Dias – Brazil’s most decorated Paralympian - finished top of the men´s rankings with 2,034 points which he gained at the fourth World Series meeting in Indianapolis, USA. Chile´s Alberto Abarza’s best performance came at the second World Series in Sao Paulo, Brazil, when he earned 2,032 points. The Netherlands´ Marc Evers (1,998) completed the top-three.

Italian teenager Boggioni topped the women´s rankings after an outstanding performance at the final World Series event in Berlin, collecting 2,113 points. Great Britain´s Bethany Firth (2,098) ended second and Kazakhstan’s Zulfiya Gabidullina (2,094) third.

Both Abarza and Gabidullina will still receive awards after they finished top of the S/SB 1-3 High Support Needs men´s and women´s rankings, respectively. The junior titles were also decided, with Australia´s Lakeisha Patterson (2,037) and Great Britain´s Jordan Catchpole (1,910) taking top honours.

The National Paralympic Committees´ title went to the British team, which secured 8,122 to finish ahead of the Netherlands (7,906) and Italy (7,814).

Full rankings are available on World Para Swimming's website.