Dutch promoted to 2019 European Division A

Netherlands defeat Switzerland for wheelchair rugby gold 23 Oct 2018
Two male wheelchair rugby players collide with their wheelchairs

Emilio Moes (left) led Netherlands to victory at the Wheelchair Rugby European Division B Championship 2018 final

ⒸLauri Jaakkola

The Netherlands and Switzerland earned their spots in next year’s Wheelchair Rugby European Championship Division A, after top-two finishes at the B Division in Pajulahti, Finland.

The Dutch defeated Switzerland 52-46 for the gold medal on 14 October, led by tournament Most Valuable Player Emilio Moes’ 24-points.

Russia* beat Austria 50-42 for the bronze medal.

The Czech Republic and Italy were relegated to the Division C European Championship.

The Netherlands and Switzerland will join Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Poland and Sweden at the 2019 Europeans held 3-12 August in Vejle, Denmark. The top two teams from the 2019 Europeans will secure spots at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, while the bottom two will be relegated to Division B in 2020.

2018 Division B European Championship All-Tournament Team (name, country, classification)

John McCarthy, Ireland, 0.5

Adrian Moser, Switzerland, 1.0

Christian Hahnel, Switzerland, 1.5

Ivan Tsibulskii, Russia, 2.0

Roman Zechmeister, Austria, 2.5

Resel Karabulut, Netherlands, 3.0

Ilia Mysliaev, Russia, 3.5

MVP – Emilio Moes, Netherlands, 2.5

Tournament Results

1. Netherlands

2. Switzerland

3. Russia

4. Austria

5. Ireland

6. Finland

7. Czech Republic

8. Italy

*Editor's note: The International Paralympic Committee suspended the Russian Paralympic Committee on 7 August 2016 for its inability to fulfil its IPC membership responsibilities and obligations, in particular its obligation to comply with the IPC Anti-Doping Code and the World Anti-Doping Code (to which it is also a signatory). As a result of the suspension, Russian athletes cannot enter IPC sanctioned events or competitions, including the Paralympic Games.