Entries announced for World Team Cup

Forty-four teams from 25 countries set to compete 08 May 2018
four wheelchair tennis players hitting shots on court

The world's best wheelchair tennis players will compete at the World Team Cup in May

ⒸGetty Images

Forty-four wheelchair tennis teams from 25 countries are among the full list of entries confirmed by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) for the 2018 BNP Paribas World Team Cup in Apeldoorn, the Netherlands, due to take place between 29 May and 3 June.

The Netherlands will stage the ITF's flagship wheelchair tennis team competition for the fourth time, with men's, women's, quad and junior events held across two venues: Tennis Club de Sprenkelaar and Tennis Club de Maten.

After the completion of the four regional qualification events, the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Committee has awarded the last wild card for the men's event to China, who finished runners-up to Japan at the Asian Qualification.

As host nation, six-time champions Netherlands have also been awarded a wild card.

Teams from Japan, Morocco, Spain and USA earned their places in the men’s event at the four Regional Qualifications for Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe.

The other participant teams are Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, France, Great Britain, Poland, Thailand and South Korea.

In the women’s event, Argentina, Great Britain, Kenya and South Korea earned their places from the Regional Qualifications. Brazil, China, France, Japan, Netherlands, Switzerland, Thailand and the USA are the other eight teams set to compete.

After missing the 2017 edition, 2016 champion Australia and South Africa were both awarded wild cards for the quad event. They will be facing Canada, Great Britain, Israel, Japan, Netherlands and the USA.