Four World Records in Morning Session as China take four golds at IPC Athletics

26 Jan 2011

China dominated the fifth morning of the 2011 IPC Athletics World Championships, winning four of the 12 gold medals on offer. Four new world records were also set during the session.

Daniel Greaves (Great Britain), Michael McKillop (Ireland), Algeria’s Sofiance Hamdi and Cuba’s Omara Durand all set new world records.

Greaves was the dominant performance of the morning. He smashed his own World record by more than three metres in the Discus F44. His throw of 58.98m eclipsed his previous mark of 55.53m set in Manchester six years. Jeremy Campbell (United States) took silver with a throw of 53.40m with the bronze going to Farzad Sepahvand, of Iran.

It was a good morning for China. Duan Ll (China) waited until his final leap to snatch gold in the Men’s Triple Jump F11. The world record holder was trailing Russian Andrey Koptev by 0.35m before his final effort of 12.93m to win by 0.28m. American Elexis Gillette was third.

Xuelong Zhang continued China’s domination with a win in the Men’s Javelin F37/38 with a throw of 53/04m, a new Championships record. Iran’s Javad Hardani took the silver from Petr Vratil of the Czech Republic.

China set another Championship record in the women’s Shot Put F11 with Liangmin Zhang easily defeating the field with a throw of 9.61m, nearly two metres ahead of Venezuela’s Yuclesy Pinto and Colombia’s YM Restrepo Munoz.

And not to be outdone, countryman Huzhao Li won the Men’s 200m T53 Final in another new championship record of 26.64secs. Canada’s Brent Lakatos took silver with Great Britain’s Michael Bushell winning bronze.

Michael McKillop of Ireland won the 1,500m T37 – a non medal event at these Championships.

Cuba’s Omara Durand was extremely impressive in the women’s 200m T13 event, winning by over a second in 24.24secs. Second was Sanae Benhama (Morocco) and Ilse Hayes was third.

South African Fanie Van Der Merwe had the mortification of not only getting nosed out of the gold medal but also having his World record taken away by Algeria’s Sofiance Hamdi in the Men’s 200m T37 Final. Both went under the old time with the Algerian winning by 0.03secs in 23.64secs. Mostafa Fathalla Mohamed (Egypt) was third.

Australia’s Evan O’Hanlon could not match his world record, but he set a new Championship time of 22.31secs in winning the T38 200m event from Tunisia’s Mohamed Farhat Chida and China’s Wenjun Zhou.

In one of the tightest finishes of the morning Thailand’s Supachai Koysub just pipped Finland’s Leo Pekka Tahti by 0.02secs in the Men’s 200m T54 event in a time of 25.23secs. China’s Yanfeng Cui was third.

Abderrahim Zhiou (Tunisia) almost broke the four-minute barrier in winning the Men’s 1500 T12 in a time of 4:00.87. He was two seconds clear of Kenya’s Henry Kirwa with Spain’s Ignacio Avila taking bronze.

Karol Wojciech Kozun (Poland) was too strong in the Men’s shot put F54/55/56. His throw of 11.58m (985pts) was just ahead of Serbia’s Drazenko Mitrovic, who set a championship record for his F54 class with a throw of 9.96m (979pts). Third was Ulrich Iser, of Germany.

In total 33 World records and 99 Championship records have been set over the four days.