IWRF announces 2016 European Championships

The two wheelchair rugby events are the first stages in qualification for the 2018 World Championships. 08 May 2016
A group of male wheelchair rugby players battling for the ball

Ireland and Finland will both compete in the European Championships Division B


The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) has announced the hosts for the first two stages of the next IWRF European Championship:

The 2016 IWRF European Championship, Division C, will be held in Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy, from 13-20 June 2016. The competition will feature teams from Israel, Norway, Russia, and host nation Italy. The top two finishers at the Division C Championship will be invited to attend the Division B Championship later in 2016. This is the first IWRF championship to be held in Italy; it will mark the first appearance by Israel at a European Championship, as well as Norway’s first appearance at a Championship since 2005.

The 2016 IWRF European Championship, Division B, will be held in Nottwil, Switzerland, from 3-10 October 2016. This event will include eight countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Finland, and Poland; host nation Switzerland; and the top two teams from the 2016 Division C Championship. The top two teams from the Division B Championship will be invited to the 2017 IWRF European Championship, Division A, which will be a qualifying event for the 2018 IWRF World Championship. Nottwil last hosted the IWRF European Championship in 2011, and was also the host of the first IWRF World Championship in 1995.

The tournament draw for the Division C Championship will be published by IWRF in May 2016. The draw for Division B will be determined after the end of the Division C event.