Madrid 2018: Spain defeat Thailand in opening game

Coach and 2010 FIFA World Cup winner Vicente del Bosque opens the competition 08 Jun 2018
a group of blind footballers in action on the pitch

Spain beat Thailand in the opening match of Madrid 2018

ⒸMadrid 2018
By IPC and Madrid 2018

Hosts Spain beat Thailand 2-1 on the first day (7 June) of competition at the seventh edition of the International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) Blind Football World Championships in Madrid.

Spain were the better side during the first half, showing clear superiority over their Asian rivals. But Thailand also had their opportunities, which they could not turn into a goal.

Antonio Gaitan opened the scoring for Spain with a penalty in the second half. Panyawut surprisingly scored an equaliser for Thailand shortly before the end of the game. But the hosts quickly recovered and Adolfo Acosta scored the winning goal for the hosts to secure their first victory in the tournament.

Spain now lead Group A and will next face African title-holders Morocco on 9 June and 2015 European champions Turkey on 11 June.

The Opening Ceremony took place before the game, with Spanish football coach and 2010 FIFA World Cup champion Vicente del Bosque, and former Real Madrid players Emilio Butragueño and Ricardo Gallego attending.

Del Bosque said: “It’s an honour for me to kick off this World Cup. What is going to happen here in Madrid is an example for the world. I wish all of them, teams and organization, the best of luck.”

Asian champions China vs. South Korea (group C), Turkey vs. Morocco (group A), Americas title-holders Argentina vs. Rio 2016 silver medallists Iran, France vs. Colombia (group B) and reigning Paralympic and world champions Brazil vs. Mali (group D) will play on 8 June.

The 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships features 16 of the world’s best teams. As well as the title on offer the competition is also an important step on the road to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics.

Group stages run until 12 June. The quarter finals and play-offs begin on 13 June with the final taking place on 17 June.

Full schedule is available on Madrid 2018's website, with all matches being streamed live on the International Paralympic Committee website.