Maniago 2018: Andrea Eskau takes Germany´s second gold

Paralympic champion secures win on the road months after shining on the snow 05 Aug 2018
Andrea Eskau (right) and Laura De Vaan go head to head in road race at Maniago 2018

Andrea Eskau (right) and Laura De Vaan go head to head in road race at Maniago 2018


Andrea Eskau took Germany´s second cycling gold at the Road World Championships only five months after winning three biathlon Paralympic golds at PyeongChang 2018.

The 47-year-old won the women´s road race H5 with a time of 1:43:44 on the third day of competition (4 August) in Maniago, Italy. She finished slightly ahead of Netherlands´ Laura De Vaan, who clocked the same time. Italy´s Ana Maria Vitelaru (2:03:05) collected bronze.

Netherlands continue leading the standings

Dutch cyclists claimed four golds in the first day of road race events.

Carmen Koedood (1:20:47) sealed a second title on Italian soil in the women´s H2, ahead of South Korea´s Mikyoung Jeon (1:29:51).

Jennette Jansen (1:40:48) also added a second gold to her individual tally as she won the women´s H4. Russia´s* Svetlana Moshkovich (1:41:22) and Germany´s Sandra Graf (1:43:55) followed her into the podium.

Two days after winning in the time trial, Rio 2016 triathlon champion Jetze Plat (1:40:35) finished first in the men´s road race H4. Poland´s Rafal Wilk (1:40:40) and Germany´s Vico Merklein (1:45:15) completed the top three.

Tim de Vries (1:46:17) won Netherlands´ fourth gold in the men´s H5. USA´s Oscar Sanchez (1:47:43) claimed silver and de Vries´ compatriot Mitch Valize (1:48:01) bronze.

Hosts Italy and USA seal three golds each

Fabrizio Cornegliani (1:41:10) won his second gold in the men´s H1 ahead of South Africa’s Nicolas Du Preez (1:42:59) and Finland´s Harri Sopanen (1:46:22).

The hosts also landed gold through Francesca Porcellato (1:40:45) in the women´s H3. She was followed by USA´s Alicia Dana (1:40:45) and Brazil´s Jady Malavazzi (1:41:22).

The third title was claimed by Giorgio Farroni (57.04) in the men´s T1, with China´s Jianxin Chen (57.04) and Spain´s Gonzalo Garcia Abella (57.09) coming in second and third respectively.

USA celebrated thanks to Rio 2016 gold medallist William Groulx (1:40:43) in the men´s H2. Italy´s two-time Paralympic champion Luca Mazzone (1:40:43) and Spain´s Sergio Garrote Munoz (1:41:37) completed the podium.

The second gold for the USA came courtesy of Jill Walsh (56:10) in the women´s T2, ahead of Australian Carol Cooke (56:12) and Germany´s Jana Majunke (57:07).

Ryan Boyle (1:13:35) won the third in the men´s T2. He was followed by Spain´s Joan Reinoso Figuerola (1:14:24) and Colombia´s Nestor Ayala Ayala (1:14:41).

Netherlands now lead the standings with nine golds, three silvers and bronze. Italy (8-2-3) are second and USA (7-4-1) third.

Full results are available on UCI’s website.

*Editor's note: The International Paralympic Committee suspended the Russian Paralympic Committee on 7 August 2016 for its inability to fulfil its IPC membership responsibilities and obligations, in particular its obligation to comply with the IPC Anti-Doping Code and the World Anti-Doping Code (to which it is also a signatory). As a result of the suspension, Russian athletes cannot enter IPC sanctioned events or competitions, including the Paralympic Games.