Mexico City 2017: US swim team confirmed

Original squad of 22 will all participate in rescheduled World Championships 06 Oct 2017
Gold medalist Jessica Long of the United States celebrates on the podium at the medal ceremony for Women's 200m Individual Medley - SM8 at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

Paralympic champion Jessica Long will defend her world titles at Mexico City 2017

ⒸGetty Images
By US Paralympics

US Paralympics has confirmed its original roster of 22 athletes will represent Team USA at the rescheduled 2017 World Para Swimming Championships, set to take place in Mexico City from 27 November – 7 December. The event was originally scheduled for 30 September – 6 October, but was postponed due to the earthquake in Mexico City on Sept. 19.

The team is made up of 12 women and 10 men and includes 13 Paralympians and two returning world champions from 2015.

Jessica Long, a 23-time Paralympic medallist and 38-time world championships medallist, will return to her sixth world championships as the reigning world champion in the 100m butterfly, 100m breaststroke, 200m individual medley and 400m freestyle. Six-time Paralympic medallist and seven-time world championships medallist Becca Meyers will also look to defend her titles in the 400m free and 200m IM. Six other female Paralympians are included on the roster, including Hannah Aspden, McKenzie Coan, McClain Hermes, Sophia Herzog, Natalie Sims and Colleen Young.

A world gold medallist in 2009, Tucker Dupree makes his fifth world championships team, and is joined by fellow Paralympians Tharon Drake, Tye Dutcher, Robert Griswold and Curtis Lovejoy.

Nine rising stars complete the team, including Caleb Cripe, Julia Gaffney, Connor Gioffreda, Gia Pergolini, Lawrence Sapp, Roderick Sewell, Zachary Shattuck, Aspen Shelton and Leanne Smith.

US squad for 2017 World Para Swimming Championships


Hannah Aspden - S9/SB8/SM9

McKenzie Coan - S7/SB6/SM7

Julia Gaffney - S8/SB6/SM8

McClain Hermes - S12/SB12/SM12

Sophia Herzog - S6/SB6/SM6

Jessica Long - S8/SB7/SM8

Becca Meyers - S13/SB13/SM13

Gia Pergolini - S13/SB13/SM13

Aspen Shelton - S13/SB13/SM13

Natalie Sims - S9/SB9/SM9

Leanne Smith - S4/SB4/SM4

Colleen Young - S13/SB13/SM13


Caleb Cripe - S7/SB8/SM7

Tharon Drake - S11/SB11/SM11

Tucker Dupree - S12/SB12/SM12

Tye Dutcher - S10/SB9/SM10

Connor Gioffreda - S6/SB6/SM6

Robert Griswold - S8/SB7/SM8

Curtis Lovejoy - S2/SB1/SM2

Lawrence Sapp - S14/SB14/SM14

Roderick Sewell - S8/SB6/SM8

Zachary Shattuck - S6/SB6/SM6

The deadline for teams to re-register for Mexico City 2017 in Sunday (8 October). More information on the rescheduled World Para Swimming Championships can be found on the official Mexico City 2017 website.