Para cycling Road World Cup series conclude

Bilbao, Spain, hosted the third and final leg between 15 and 17 July. 18 Jul 2016
Ernst van Dyk

Ernst van Dyk


The UCI Para cycling Road World Cup series came to an end in Bilbao, Spain, where the third and final leg took place from 15-17 July. South Africa topped the final overall medal standings with six golds, five silvers and three bronzes.

South Africa’s Paralympic champion Ernst van Dyk finished first in both the men’s time trial and road race H5 to claim the overall title. Juan Odendaal (C3), Stuart Mc Creadie (H3) and Goldy Fuchs (T2) were the country’s three other male winners.

In the women’s events, Estelle Van der Merwe (C5) and Toni Mould (T1) added two titles to South Africa’s win list.

Poland’s Przemyslaw Wegner ended second in the men’s time trial and third in the road race B, in Bilbao, but still captured the Road World Cup series title. His teammates Rafal Mikolajczyk (men’s H1), Rafal Wilk (men’s H4) and Renata Kaluza (women’s H3) secured three more golds.

Following their performance in Bilbao, the USA ended with two overall titles: Matthew Bigos in the men’s C1 and Jay Lapointe in the men’s T1.

France’s Dorian Foulon and Katell Alencon became the overall winners in the men’s C5 and women’s C4, respectively.

In the women’s C2, Czech Republic’s Tereza Diepoldova topped the final medal standings, whilst teammate Lada Ekrtova took gold in the women’s T2.

Other overall winners in the men’s events were Venezuela’s Victor Hugo Garrido Marquez (C2), Slovakia’s Jozef Metelka (C4) and Israel’s Yaakov Kobi Lion (H2).

Greece’s Adamantia Chalkiadaki (B), China’s Jieli Li (C1), Germany’s Denise Schindler (C3), Ireland’s Ciara Staunton (H2), Switzerland’s Sandra Graf (H4) and Sweden’s Jessica Enfot (H5) claimed the Road World Cup series titles in their respective women’s events.

Austria won the team relay, ahead of Ireland and Poland.

The full results and the final standings can be found online.