IPC Athletics World Championships
19-29 July

South African team named for Lyon 2013

Team heading to France features experienced Paralympic and World Champions, leading the next generation of younger athletes on their Road to Rio 2016. 14 Jun 2013
A picture of women running on the track

Ilse Hayes of South Africa crosses the line to win silver in the Women's 100m - T13 Final at the London 2012 Paralympic Games

ⒸGetty Images

"South Africa has always excelled at both the Paralympics and IPC World Championships and brought many medals home previously."

The South African Sport Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) has announced the names of the team that will be participating at the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletics World Championships being held in Lyon, France from 19-28 July 2013.

A squad of 39 from South Africa will be participating in the sixth edition of the championships, which follow Christchurch in 2011. These include 32 athletes (23 males and nine females), four coaches, a physiotherapist, a team manager and an assistant manager.

The team selected for France is a blend of experience and new talent with more than half of the team having worn the green and gold of Team South Africa at last year’s Paralympic Games in London.

The South African Paralympic athletes will be competing in Lyon as they commence their preparations for the next Paralympic Games in Rio in 2016.

At the last IPC Athletics World Championships in Christchurch, New Zealand, Team South Africa ended 10th on the medals table with a total of 24 medals. The medals tally was made up of eight gold, seven silver and nine bronze.

Teboho Mokgalagadi (100m, 200m) and Ilse Hayes (100m, long jump) won two gold medals each in Christchurch. Hayes also collected gold in the long jump and silver in the 100m T13 at London 2012, showing a continuation of her great form.

Sprinter Arnou Fourie picked up bronze in London in the 100m T44 and gold with the 4x100m T42-46 relay, an almost mirror image of his performance in Christchurch the year before where he won bronze over 200m as well as silver again in the relay.

“We at SASCOC wish the athletes all the best in their preparation for the IPC World Championships. South Africa has always excelled at both the Paralympics and IPC World Championships and brought many medals home previously. Consequently, we urge the team to bring more medals back home this year. SASCOC continues to offer the team undivided support to make the championships a success for the South African nation,” said SASCOC CEO, Mr. Tubby Reddy.

The list of the South African athletes to sweat it out at the 2013 IPC World Championships is as follows:


Tsepo Bhebe

Dyan Buis

Jacques De Bruyn

Andrea Della Ave

Christiaan Du Plessis

Charl Du Toit

Divan Engelbrecht

Arnu Fourie

Reinhardt Hamman

Jozua Joubert

Gerrit Kruger

Hilton Langenhoven

Michael Louwrens

Denswill Maans

Teboho Mokgalagadi

Kerwin Noemdo

Jonathan Ntutu

Tyrone Pillay

Samkelo Radebe

Casper Schutte

Union Sekailwe

Zivan Smith

Fanie Van Der Merwe


Louzanne Coetzee

Lizel Gouws

Ilse Hayes

Anruné Liebenberg

Juanelie Meijer

Zandile Nhlapo

Ntombizanele Situ

Chenelle Van Zyl

Rouxne Vermaak

Approximately 1,300 athletes from 90 countries are expected to attend Lyon 2013, the first major gathering of international track and field stars following London.