Sweden and Korea Qualify for Vancouver 2010

11 Nov 2009 By IPC

The team from Korea held its position on top as day three of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Ice Sledge Hockey Paralympic Winter Games Qualification Tournament in Malmö, Sweden, finished today.

Winning against Germany, 4-1, athletes from Korea kept the crowd on their feet, with two goals from Jung Seung Hwan, and one each from Cho Byeong Seok and Han Min Su. Germany’s Gerd Bleidorn scored the team’s goal in the second period, less than 30 seconds after Korea’s Cho Young Jae assisted Han Min Su’s shot.

In the first game of the day, Sweden beat Estonia, 4-1, with four different Swedish athletes scoring, including Rasmus Lundgren, Marcus Holm, Niklas Ingvarsson and Jens Kask. Estonia’s Imre Tiitsu scored the teams goal in the second period.

The wins from Korea and Sweden advance them both to the tournament final and consequently to the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games next year from 12-21 March 2010.

The IPC Ice Sledge Hockey Qualification Tournament is taking place in Malmö, Sweden, through 13 November. All of the athletes in Malmö have had the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games on their minds, as the Qualification Tournament secured placement at the Games for the top two finishers.