Sweden Wins Gold Medal in Malmo

13 Nov 2009 By IPC

The host team from Sweden won the gold medal at the last day of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Ice Sledge Hockey Paralympic Winter Games Qualification Tournament in Malmö, Sweden, today.

Winning against Korea with 3-2, the athletes excited the spectators with a powerful play. Aron Andersson, Marcus Holm (both SWE), Park Sang Hyoen and Kim Dea Jung (both KOR) scored the goals for their teams respectively.

The bronze medal game of the day was won by Germany against Estonia with 2-1. Matthias Koch (GER) and Tarmo Eerma (EST) scored each one goal for their teams within the three regular game's periods. Germany secured the medal by a penalty shot from Frank Rennhack.

Korea and Sweden already secured their qualification for the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games on Wednesday.

The IPC Ice Sledge Hockey Qualification Tournament took place in Malmö, Sweden, from 9-13 November. All of the athletes in Malmö had the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games on their minds, as the Qualification Tournament secured placement at the Games for the top two finishers.

Best players in the tournament were Choi Hyuk Jun from Korea, Niklas Ingvarsson from Sweden and Jung Seung Hwan from Korea.