Team USA names 2020 national cycling squad

Paralympic hopefuls set to impress at upcoming track and road Worlds 17 Jan 2020
Portrait of man with big beard and missing right arm holdings his bike
Joe Berenyi will aim to defend his time trial world title in the men's C3 category
ⒸGetty Images

Team USA have assembled their cycling squad for the 2020 season, with hopes of strengthening the group for this year’s all-important Paralympic Games in Tokyo.

The Para Cycling Track World Championships in January and the Road Cycling Worlds in June are the last opportunities for athletes to earn ranking points for their nations towards Tokyo 2020, and that would be the intent for the 26 US cyclists.

The roster includes 15 Paralympians and five current world champions. Four-time Paralympic medallist Joe Berenyi will try to defend his 1km time trial MC3 at the Track World Championships in Milton, Canada, beginning 30 January. Rio 2016 Paralympians Chris Murphy (MC5) and Shawn Cheshire (WB) are the experienced cyclists also heading to Milton.

Then next up is the Road Worlds that kick off on 7 June in Ostend, Belgium, and two-time Paralympic gold medallist Shawn Morelli will go for a third consecutive title in the road race WC4. Aaron Keith earned his second-ever rainbow jersey in the time trial MC1 last year. 

Shawn Morelli


Two-time Paralympian Alicia Dana also landed on the Worlds’ podium to earn her second-career rainbow jersey in the time trial WH3, while Paralympian Ryan Boyle defended his crown in the road race MT2. 

Tom Davis, Will Groulx, and Brandon Lyons return to the national team after earning a silver medal in the team relay. Up-and-coming star Clara Brown will try to build off from her breakout 2019 season that saw her compete back-to-back World bronze medals in the time trial WC3. 

After the conclusion of both World Championships, the attention turns to the US Paralympic Team Trials from 25-28 June in Minneapolis, USA, where the Tokyo 2020 roster will be decided.

“This year is going to be big for us, and we have a great roster heading into the 2020 season,” said Ian Lawless, director of US Paralympics Cycling. 

“We have great mix of Paralympians, Paralympic hopefuls and a few reigning world champions, and we’re especially excited for this season since we’re under a year from the Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020.”

2020 US Paralympics Cycling National Team 

Joe Berenyi – MC3
Jason Kimball – MC3
Jason Macom  MC4
Chris Murphy – MC5
Justin Widhalm– MC5
Shawn Cheshire – WB

Samantha Bosco – C5 
Clara Brown – WC3

Alicia Dana - WH3
Oksana Masters – WH5
Shawn Morelli - WC4
Jenna Rollman – WH3
Monica Sereda– WT2
Jill Walsh – WT2
Jamie Whitmore – WC3
Ryan Boyle - MT2
Tom Davis – MH4
Freddie De los Santos – MH5
Travis Gaertner – MH4
Will Groulx – MH2
Cody Jung – MC4
Aaron Keith - MC1
Brandon Lyons – MH3 
Ryan Pinney – MH3
Matthew Rodriguez – MT2
Oz Sanchez - MH5