US blank Canada to open three game series

Paralympic champions USA beat world title holders 2-0 just with just one month to go until the 2015 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships A-Pool. 27 Mar 2015
An ice sledge hockey goaltender raises his arms in celebration.

American ice sledge hockey goaltender Steve Cash celebrates after a victory at the Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games.

ⒸGetty Images
By USA Hockey

“The key now is to improve for the next game of the series.”

Brody Roybal and Josh Pauls scored and Steve Cash made eight saves as the US National Sledge Hockey Team shut out Canada, 2-0, in the opening contest of a three-game series between the two squads at Extreme Ice Center in Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA, on Thursday (26 March).

“We got better as the game went on,” said Guy Gosselin, acting head coach of the US National Sled Hockey Team. “The key now is to improve for the next game of the series.”

After a scoreless first period, Team USA grabbed a 1-0 lead 6:24 into the second stanza when Roybal’s shot from the right hash mark beat Canada goaltender, Dominic Larocque, on the glove side.

Nikko Landeros and Josh Sweeney earned assists on the play. Pauls extended the lead with 3:31 remaining in the second when he collected a pass from Landeros and slid the puck beneath Larocque.

Cash made eight saves to earn his third shutout of the season and second consecutive shutout against Canada.

The US also defeated Canada, 2-0, in preliminary-round action of the 2015 World Sledge Hockey Challenge in Leduc, Canada, in February, but have been posted to separate groups for the A-Pool Worlds in Buffalo, New York, USA from 26 April-3 May.

USA and Canada return to action on Friday (27 March) at the Extreme Ice Center. Puck drop is set for 16:00 ET and the game will be streamed live at

Additionally, live stats and complete coverage of the series can be found at USA Hockey’s website.

The 2015 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships A-Pool open with USA v Russia and Canada v Japan on Sunday (26 April), and features a total of eight teams playing for honours at the HARBORCENTER.