USA announces 2015 IPC Athletics Marathon World Championships team

Tatyana McFadden and Ray Martin headline US marathon team for 2015 World Championships. 10 Feb 2015
Raymond Martin celebrates

USA's Raymond Martin won every race he entered at the London 2012 Paralympic Games

By US Paralympics

US Paralympics have announced their nine athletes who will compete at the 2015 IPC Athletics Marathon World Championships to be held in association with the Virgin Money London Marathon on 26 April in London, Great Britain.

“This is a very strong team that we are sending to London for the World Championships. I’m hoping that our athletes bring home at least two medals, if not more," said Cathy Sellers, high performance director for US Paralympics Track and Field.

"This event provides a great opportunity for Team USA to kick-off what should be a very successful year on the roads, on the track and in the field.”

The team includes the following athletes:

Josh George (T53)

George has competed and medalled at the past three Paralympic Games and is the reigning world champion in the men's 800m T53 race. He has won the Chicago Marathon men's wheelchair title four times, most recently in 2014 with a time of 1:32:12.

Ray Martin (T52)

Martin is a four-time Paralympic gold medallist, five-time world champion and two-time USOC Male Paralympic Athlete of the Year (2012, 2013). Despite the lack of a major championship last season, Martin still made waves, setting the world record in the men’s 200m T52 race, running a 30.02 at the Desert Challenge in Mesa, Arizona. He also set world records at the Fast Cow and Indy International meets in the 400m and 1500m.

Chelsea McClammer (T53)

The youngest member of the 2008 US Paralympic Team, McClammer competed in the women's 800m T54 and finished in eighth place. She placed third in the 200m at the 2013 World Championships and in 2014, McClammer finished first at the Indianapolis Mini Marathon, fourth at the Chicago Marathon and ninth at the New York City Marathon.

Tatyana McFadden (T54)

London. Boston. Chicago. New York City. All great cities, all with prestigious marathons - and McFadden has won the wheelchair race at each for the past two years. She is also the first woman to win six events at the IPC Athletics World Championships. She won three gold and one bronze at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Amanda McGrory (T53)

McGrory is a three-time medallist at the Paralympic Games including silver in the women’s marathon at the 2008 Games. She is also a two-time world champion in the 800m. McGrory won the 2006 and 2011 New York City Marathon, 2010 Chicago Marathon and the 2012 Paris Marathon.

Shirley Reilly (T53)

Reilly has competed at the last three Paralympic Games and earned three medals at the 2012 Games, including gold in the women’s marathon. She won the 2011 and 2012 Los Angeles Marathons as well as the 2012 Boston Marathon. She won the silver medal in the 400m at the 2013 IPC Athletics World Championships.

Jason Romero (T13)

Romero is an ultra-runner and has competed in multiple races of 100 miles or longer, including the gruelling Leadville Trail 100. He is the 2014 US Association of Blind Athletes National Marathon Champion.

James Senbeta (T54)

Senbeta has only been racing for a few years but he is quickly moving up in the standings. He placed fifth in the Los Angeles Marathon in 2013 and ninth in the Boston Marathon in 2014.

Susannah Scaroni (T54)

Scaroni was a member of Team USA for the London 2012 Paralympic Games where she placed eighth in the women’s marathon. She placed in the top–ten at the 2012 Boston Marathon, won the 2013 Los Angeles Marathon and won the Twin Cities Marathon in both 2013 and 2014.