USA name 2017-18 Para ice hockey team

13 return from the team that took silver at the 2017 Worlds. 19 Aug 2017
US ice sledge hockey players celebrate after a goal

US ice sledge hockey players at the 2016 World Sledge Hockey Challenge.

ⒸUSA Hockey
By USA Hockey

USA Hockey has announced their 2017-18 national team. The group includes 13 returnees from team that claimed silver medal at the 2017 World Championships in Gangneung, South Korea.

“We fell short of our goal last season, and with this being a Paralympic year, there was a hunger and drive at tryouts that we, as a staff, were extremely pleased to see," said Dan Brennan, director of Para ice hockey for USA Hockey and general manager of the 2017-18 national team. “This was the most competitive tryout in programme history and we’re excited to get this season underway and continue evaluating players for spots on this year’s Paralympic team.”

Goaltender Steve Cash, who has backstopped the US to two Paralympic gold medals (2010, 2014) and three World Championship gold medals (2009, 2012, 2015), is returning for his 13th season.

On defence, Team USA welcomes back Tyler Carron, Nikko Landeros and Josh Pauls, who all helped Team USA claim gold medals at the Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games, 2015 World Championship and 2016 IPC Pan-Pacific Championship. Landeros and Pauls also helped the US win gold at the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games.

Nine forwards return from last season, including a pair of players who established new US World Championship records, including Declan Farmer and Kevin McKee. Joining Farmer and McKee from last season are fellow returnees Noah Grove, Luke McDermott, Adam Page, Rico Roman, Brody Roybal, Paul Schaus and Jack Wallace. Roman and Schaus were members of the gold medal-winning 2014 US Paralympic team while Page skated on both the 2010 and 2014 gold medal-winning teams.

Also part of the 2017-18 roster are goaltender Jen Lee and forward Josh Misiewicz. Joining Misiewicz and Lee as newcomers for the upcoming season are defenseman Ralph DeQuebec and forward Travis Dodson.

More information on the 2017-18 team can be found on