World Rowing announces finalists for 2016 awards

Five Para rowing crews have been shortlisted for the ‘2016 World Rowing Para Crew of the Year’ category. 13 Nov 2016
GBR's rowing gold medallists at Lagoa

The Great Britain Gold Medal winning crew of Grace Clough GBR (bow), Daniel Brown GBR, Pamela Relph GBR, James Fox GBR and James Olicer (cox) in the LTA Mixed Coxed Four - LTAMix4+ Final A at the Lagoa Stadium.

ⒸThomas Lovelock for OIS/IOC.
By World Rowing

World Rowing announced the finalists for the 2016 awards, including the five Para rowing crews shortlisted for the ‘2016 World Rowing Para Crew of the Year’ category.

British Paralympic champion Rachel Morris is one of the finalists, as is Norway’s Birgit Skarstein, who finished fourth in the women’s single sculls at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, and Ukraine’s Rio 2016 gold medallist Roman Polianskyi.

Great Britain’s LTA mixed coxed four and TA mixed double sculls, who won gold in their respective categories at Rio 2016, are also nominated.

The other categories are ‘World Rowing Female Crew of the Year’, ‘World Rowing Male Crew of the Year’ and ‘Coach of the Year’.

Following a public nomination process which closed on 9 October, the list was narrowed down. Those nominations then went to the World Rowing Federation’s Council that selected the finalists.

The award winners will be announced on 2 December and will then be honoured on 28 January 2017 at a gala dinner during the World Rowing Coaches Conference in Vancouver, Canada.