World Series 2020 calendar announced

Seven cities in four continents to host the fourth season of the Para Swimming competition 30 Sep 2019
Alice Tai - London 2019 - swimming - Great Britain - day 4
Alice Tai, campeona de la World Series 2019, celebra tras ganar su cuarto oro en el Campeonato Mundial 2019
ⒸGetty Images
By World Para Swimming

World Para Swimming has announced the 2020 World Series calendar with seven cities across four continents hosting the competition from February to June.

As in 2019, the season-opener will take place in Melbourne, Australia, from 14-16 February.

The Series will then move to Italy where Lignano Sabbiadoro will host the event for the third year in a row – from 27 February to 1 March.

Sao Paulo, Brazil, comes next from 26 to 28 March at the National Paralympic Training Centre. 

Together with Indianapolis, USA, and Berlin, Germany, Sao Paulo is one of the three cities which has been part of the World Series since the first edition in 2017.

Great Britain will also host the Series for the fourth consecutive year in different cities as competition returns to Sheffield from 9-12 April. 

The fifth stop will be Indianapolis from 16-18 April followed by Singapore from 1-3 May.
Once again, the season ends in the German capital Berlin from 18-21 June.

“The 2020 World Series will be the first to take place in a Paralympic Games year, offering swimmers from all over the world the chance to plan next season in advance and to compete in high-level events in preparation for Tokyo 2020," said Tracy Glassford, World Para Swimming Senior Manager.

"It will also give Para swimming fans the opportunity to start following the amazing athletes they will watch competing at the Paralympics."

“The next season will also be the first in which the series return to the same countries that hosted them in the previous season. The World Series is now well established as a platform for new swimmers to come onto the international scene at the same time that it offers the world’s best athletes a more consistent competition calendar. We take this opportunity to thank all Local Organising Committees and share with them the success of the competition,” Glassford added. 

The 2019 season saw over 1,300 swimmers from 84 countries competing. Spain’s Antoni Ponce was crowned the men’s individual winner and Great Britain’s Alice Tai took the women’s individual title. 

More information can be found on the World Para Swimming website.