Results of IPC Athletes' Council Elections 2010

Vancouver/Whistler, Canada – From 10-19 March, all accredited athletes participating in the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games had the chance to take part in the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletes' Council Election. 19 Mar 2010 By IPC

A record number of 403 athletes (79,9%) in all two Paralympic Villages (Vancouver, Whistler) voted for three of the six candidates running for the IPC Athletes' Council. By comparison, at the Torino 2006 Paralympic Winter Games, 79.87% of all accredited athletes took the opportunity to vote.

Marketa Sidkova, IPC Athletes’ Council Election Task Force Chairperson and member of the IPC Athletes’ Council, stated: "We are very happy with this election. It was very successful and an enriching experience for all members of the Election Task Force. We worked well as a team and had the great help of our VANOC Volunteers."

Athletes elected to the IPC Athletes' Council include:

Katarzyna Rogowiec, Poland, Biathlon & Cross-Country Skiing (275 votes)

Todd Nicholson, Canada, Ice Sledge Hockey (203 votes)

Eskil Hagen, Norway, Ice Sledge Hockey (193 votes)

The IPC Athletes’ Council (AC) is the collective voice of Paralympic athletes within the IPC and the greater Paralympic Movement. As the liaison between the IPC decision-makers and Paralympic athletes, the IPC AC works to provide effective input into decision-making at all levels of the organization. The Council is composed of nine Paralympic athlete representatives elected for a four-year term. Six athlete representatives are elected during the Paralympic Summer Games and three during the Paralympic Winter Games. The new IPC Athletes' Council Winter Representatives (2010-201) will be announced and presented during the Paralympic Games Closing Ceremony.