2016 World Sledge Hockey Challenge to kick off

The four-team event will take place in Charlottetown, Canada, between 4-10 December, with the hosts, the USA, South Korea and Norway competing. 02 Dec 2016
US ice sledge hockey players celebrate after a goal

US ice sledge hockey players at the 2016 World Sledge Hockey Challenge.

ⒸUSA Hockey
By Hockey Canada

Charlottetown, Canada, will welcome the 2016 World Sledge Hockey Challenge for a third time, from 4-10 December, and will feature reigning Paralympic champions USA, Sochi 2014 bronze medallists Canada, PyeongChang 2018 hosts South Korea and Sochi 2014 fourth-placed Norway.

The USA and South Korea will kick off the event, followed by Canada versus Norway, on 4 December. Each team will face the other three once, with the best team from the round-robin playing against the fourth and the second against the third in the semi-finals.

On 10 December, the medal matches will be contested. All 10 games will take place at the MacLauchlan Arena. Tickets can be purchased online and cost CAD10 for the preliminary round, and CAD15 for the semi-finals and the medal-games.

The USA won the last edition of this event, with Canada taking silver. These two teams have been the competition’s only two historical winners, with the USA claiming four titles and Canada five.

This event will also allow the four teams to test each other whilst they enter the final stages of qualification towards the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games.

For more information, visit Hockey Canada’s website.