Berck-Sur-Mer 2018: Non-European countries set to compete

World Para Powerlifting European Open Championships start in one month 25 Apr 2018
Athlete celebrating in Para powerlifting competition

Evanio da Silva celebrating at the Mexico City 2017 World Championships

ⒸDaniel Zappe/MPIX/CPB

As an Open Championships, the World Para Powerlifting Europeans set to take place in Berck-Sur-Mer, France, between 25 and 29 May will welcome several countries from outside the continent where it will be contested.

Here is the full list and which ones have the biggest chances of reaching the podium in one month.

Algeria: 2017 World Championships bronze medallist Hocine Bettir will lead the eight-athlete delegation.

Brazil: Rio 2016 hosts will take a total of 17 powerlifters, including Paralympic silver medallist Evanio Da Silva.

Chile: Parapan American champion Juan Carlos Garrido will go for his first title of the year while he prepares for Lima 2019.

Ghana: The African country will send a delegation made up of four powerlifters, including three men and one women.

Indonesia: Ni Nengah Widiasih seeks to continue improving after becoming the first Indonesian to win a Paralympic medal at Rio 2016.

Kazakhstan: Lyazzat Zhakupova will make her international debut as the sole Kazakh representative on French soil.

Kyrgyzstan: Esen Kaliev, Maksat Argymbaev, Adilet Kamchybekov and Zhyrgalbek Orosbaev will be Kyrgyzstan’s four powerlifters in Berck-Sur-Mer.

Mexico: Two-time Paralympic bronze medallist Catalina Diaz Vilchis and 2010 world champion Perla Barcenas aim to kick off their season with a medal.

Morocco: Two male and four female powerlifters will represent the African country at the European Open Championships.

Nigeria: After sweeping all powerlifting events at the Commonwealth Games, Nigeria are ready to extend their dominance through their many world and Paralympic champions.

Peru: Looking to gain international experience ahead of their home Parapans in Lima next year, Diego Quispe and Neil Garcia Trelles will compete in Berck-Sur-Mer.

South Korea: Gilbeom Seo, Seong-Gu Lee and Gwangyeoul Park make up the South Korean powerlifting delegation.

Turkmenistan: 2014 Asian Para Games silver medallist and two-time Paralympian Sergey Meladze will lead the team.

Uzbekistan: Mexico City 2017 bronze medallist Ruza Kuzieva will be Uzbekistan’s main medal hope at the Europeans.

More information about Berck-Sur-Mer 2018 can be found on the official website.