Paralympic Games
7-18 September

Brazilian government extends visa waiver for Rio 2016

Tourists from USA, Canada, Australia and Japan added to list of nationalities that will be able to travel freely to Brazil between June and September. 07 Jan 2016
Rio logo
By Rio 2016

Tourists from the USA, Canada, Australia and Japan have been added to the list of nationalities that will be able to visit Brazil without a visa for the Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The Brazilian Federal Government has announced that citizens of these four countries will be able to enter Brazil for leisure reasons between 1 June and 18 September, and stay for 90 days, without having to arrange a visa in advance.

The aim of the temporary measure is to increase tourism in Brazil during the Games, with Henrique Eduardo Alves, Brazil’s Tourism Minster, saying it should result in an increase of 20 per cent in visitors from these four countries.

Tourists from many other nations – including those in the European Union along with Russia, Argentina, South Africa, New Zealand and the Republic of Korea – already do not need a visa to visit Brazil.

The decision to add the USA, Canada, Australia and Japan to this list for the Games period was based on a series of factors, including the strong Olympic tradition in these countries, their positive history of tourism in Brazil, and security.

The Paralympic Games will be staged from 7 to 18 September. To buy tickets, please click here.