Draw complete for IWRF 2017 Europeans

Reigning champions Great Britain lead Pool A, while host Germany highlight Pool B. 21 Mar 2017
Wheelchair Rugby Denmark

Danish wheelchair rugby team

ⒸWheelchair Rugby Denmark
By International Wheelchair Rugby Federation and IPC

The pools for the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) European Championship Division A have been decided, following a draw on Monday (20 March) in Koblenz, Germany.

Teams were drawn in pairs based on their current world rankings.

Defending champions Great Britain lead the way in Pool B, which also includes the 2015 bronze medallists Denmark. Poland and Ireland complete the group.

European Championship runners-up Sweden will be joined by host nation Germany, who got to pick their pool toward the end of the draw. The Germans will look to leave with a medal after finishing fourth in the 2015 edition. France and Finland will also contend in Pool A.

The draw was conducted by the Koblenz 2017 Organising Committee in the presence of the mayor of Koblenz Joachim Hofmann-Göttig and under the supervision of IWRF.

The 2017 European Championship Division A will take place at the CONLOG Arena in Koblenz from 24 June to 1 July. The event is a direct qualifier for the 2018 IWRF World Championship in Sydney, Australia, with the top four teams securing spots at the Worlds. Teams finishing outside the top four can still qualify through the World Championship Qualification Tournament, to be held in early 2018.

A video replay of the draw can be viewed on the IWRF European Championship Koblenz 2017 Facebook page.

Pool A:

Sweden (6)

France (7)

Finland (13)

Germany (10)

Pool B:

Great Britain (5)

Denmark (8)

Poland (12)

Ireland (11)