London 2019: Brazil and Spain announce teams

Paralympic champions and newcomers line up for the World Championships 06 Jul 2019 By World Para Swimming

Brazil and Spain will come to London for the World Para Swimming Allianz Championships with some of the most awarded athletes in the competition’s recent history.

A total of 26 Brazilian and 36 Spaniards will be in action at the London Aquatics Centre from 9 to 15 September.

The South American delegation will be led by 14-time Paralympic champion Daniel Dias (S5), the country’s most successful Paralympian.

The team also counts with former world champions Joana Silva (S5) and Roberto Alcalde Rodriguez (S6) alongside newcomers such as Maria Carolina Gomes.

In her first season, she is the leader of the 50m freestyle S12 ranking and broke the 100m backstroke SB12 world record on her competition debut at the Sao Paulo World Series in April– a mark later improved by Germany’s Elena Krawzow.

Rio winners in action

Spain will take to the British capital four Paralympic champions from the Rio 2016 Games, including seven-time gold medallist Teresa Perales (S5).

Michelle Alonso (S14), Oscar Salguero (SB8) and Nuria Marques Soto (S9) are the other Rio winners in the Spanish roster.

The Europeans will also bring the winner of the men’s 2019 World Series, Antoni Ponce Bertran (S5), and will count with the return to competitions of four-time Paralympic champion Enhamed Enhamed (S11) – who last competed in the Worlds in 2010.

Around 600 athletes from 60 nations are set to compete in London, the most important Para swimming competition before the Tokyo 2020 Games.

Brazil team:

Ana Karolina Soares de Oliveira

Beatriz Carneiro

Bruno Becker

Caio Amorim

Carlos Farrenberg

Cecilia Araujo

Daniel Dias

Debora Carneiro

Edenia Garcia

Estephany Rodrigues

Gabriel Cristiano

Guilherme Batista Silva

Italo Pereira

Joana Silva

Laila Garcia

Lucilene da Silva Sousa

Maiara Barreto

Maria Carolina Gomes

Matheus Rheine

Patricia Pereira dos Santos

Phelipe Rodrigues

Roberto Alcalde Rodriguez

Ruiter Silva

Susana Schnarndorf Ribeiro

Talisson Glock

Wendel Belarmino


Spain team:

Alejandro Rojas

Antoni Ponce Bertran

Ariadna Edo

Ariel Schrenck

Borja Sanz

Carlos Martinez

David Levecq

David Sanchez

Enhamed Enhamed

Enrique Alhambra

Eva Coronado

Ines Rodriguez

Inigo Llopis

Isabel Yinghua Hernández

Ivan Fernandez

Ivan Salguero

Jacobo Garrido

Jose Antonio Mari

Jose Ramon Cantero

Judith Rolo

Julia Benito

Luis Huerta

Manuel Martinez

Maria Delgado

Marian Polo

Michelle Alonso

Miguel Luque

Miguel Ángel Martínez Tajuelo

Nahia Zudaire

Nuria Marques Soto

Oscar Salguero

Sarai Gascon

Sebastian Rodriguez

Sergio Martos

Teresa Perales

Vicente Gil