IPC Athletics World Championships
19-29 July

Marlou van Rhijn heads strong Dutch team for Lyon

Dutch team hoping to continue ‘unexpected’ form with van Rhijn, Pruysen and van Weeghel. 18 Jun 2013
Marlou van Rhijn

Marlou Van Rhijn of Netherlands celebrates winning gold in the women's 200m T44 at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

ⒸGetty Images

“We are very curious about the level of competition in this first championship after London."

The Dutch Athletics Federation have announced a team of ten athletes for the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) World Championships in Lyon 2013, headed up by ‘Blade Babe’ and fastest female amputee in the world, Marlou van Rhijn.

21 year-old Van Rhijn holds the 100m, 200m and 400m T43 world records, breaking her own 100m and 400m records just last weekend (16 June) at the IPC Athletics Grand Prix in Berlin.

Joining van Rhijn on the plane to Lyon will be 23 year-old Ronald Hertog. Hertog competed in the javelin F44 in London last summer winning bronze, but in Lyon will be competing in the 200m T44 and long jump F44. Hertog enters a competitive field, with USA’s Jerome Singleton and Arnou Fourie all looking to maintain their form over 200m.

In the long jump F44, Iris Pruysen will be looking to make amends for missing out on a medal at London in 2012 as she finished fourth behind France’s Marie Amelie le Fur, Great Britan’s Stef Reid and Australian Kelly Cartwright who is coming back from injury.

Guido Bonsen, head coach of the Dutch para-athletics team said:

"Eight of these 10 athletes already participated at the Paralympics in London, where we won an unexpected 7 medals.

"Off course our Paralympic Champion and 'Blade Babe' Marlou van Rhijn is in our team. Youngster Marlene van Gansewinkel is a real new face. Currently Marlou (100m, 200m, 400m T43), Kenny (100m, 200m T54) and Iris (long jump F44) are on top of the rankings, so we have high hopes for the team.

“We are very curious about the level of competition in this first championship after London."


Jelmar Bos (T37) 100m and 200m

Ronald Hertog (T/F44) 200m and long jump

Stefan Rusch (T34) 100m, 200m and 400m

Kenny van Weeghel (T54) 100m, 200m and 400m


Marlou van Rhijn (T43) 100m, 200m and 400m

Annette Roozen (T/F42) 100m and long jump

Iris Pruysen (T/F44) 100m, 200m and long jump

Marlene van Gansewinkel (T44) 100m

Amy Siemons (T34) 100m and 200m

Desiree Vranken (T34) 100m and 200m