Poland win gold at European B Championship

The wheelchair rugby event took place in Nottwil, Switzerland, between 3-9 October. 22 Oct 2016
IWRF logo

Official logo for the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation


Poland claimed the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) European Division B Championship title in Nottwil, Switzerland, on 9 October following a 48-43 victory over Finland in the gold-medal match.

Both finalists qualified for the 2017 European Division A Championship to be held in Koblenz, Germany.

The champions remained undefeated throughout the competition, finishing top of Pool A after beating Russia 56-38, Czech Republic 51-42 and Finland 44-37. In the semi-finals they defeated defeating Austria 45-34.

Switzerland sealed bronze thanks to a hard-fought win over Austria 48-47.

Final standings:

1. Poland;

2. Finland;

3. Switzerland;

4. Austria;

5. Belgium;

6. Italy;

7. Czech Republic;

8. Russia.

More information is available on IWRF’s website.

*Editor’s note: The International Paralympic Committee suspended the Russian Paralympic Committee on 7 August for its inability to fulfil its IPC membership responsibilities and obligations, in particular its obligation to comply with the IPC Anti-Doping Code and the World Anti-Doping Code (to which it is also a signatory). As a result of the suspension, Russian athletes cannot enter IPC sanctioned events or competitions, including the Paralympic Games. For further information please click here.