Rachel Morris named Para rower of the year

World Rowing recognised the British rower’s performance at Rio 2016, where she won gold in the women’s singles sculls ASW1x. 07 Dec 2016
Woman in rowing boat celebrating

Great Britain's Rachel Morris wins silver in the women's single sculls at the 2015 World Rowing Championships

ⒸFISA Igor Meijer
By World Rowing

Great Britain’s Rachel Morris was announced as the winner of the World Rowing Awards in the 2016 World Rowing Para Crew of the Year category and will be honoured on 28 January 2017 at a gala dinner during the World Rowing Coaches Conference in Vancouver, Canada.

After a successful career as a cyclist, winning one gold and one bronze at Paralympic Games, the 37-year-old switched to rowing in 2013. Two years later, she took silver at the World Championships and, in 2016, Morris went on to seal Paralympic gold in the women’s singles sculls ASW1x, in Rio.

Norway’s Birgit Skarstein, who finished fourth in that race, was also shortlisted alongside Ukraine’s Roman Polianskyi, who claimed gold in the men’s equivalent. Great Britain’s Paralympic champions LTA mixed coxed four and TA mixed double sculls crews were also nominated.

Winners were also announced for the World Rowing Female Crew of the Year, World Rowing Male Crew of the Year and Coach of the Year categories.

More information can be found on World Rowing’s website.