Schedule confirmed for Para ice hockey international

Canada, Norway, South Korea and hosts Italy will compete in Torino ahead of the 2017 World Championships. 06 Feb 2017
Italy v Germany at the Buffalo 2015 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships A-Pool

Italy v Germany at the Buffalo 2015 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships A-Pool

ⒸBill Wippert
By Sportdipiu

The schedule for the sixth International Para Ice Hockey Tournament has been confirmed with Canada, Norway, South Korea and hosts Italy lining up in the Palatazzoli stadium in Torino from 27 February.

The event, which has become a staple of the Para ice hockey calendar, is organised by Sportdipiu and will be a good indication of form for teams as they prepare for the 2017 World Para Ice Hockey Championships in Gangneung, South Korea, from 11-20 April.

At the last edition of the tournament in Torino, Canada took victory by defeating Italy in the final. South Korea were third after beating Norway on penalties.

World Championships silver medallists Canada are once again the favourites, but all teams have stepped up their training in the hope of a good performance at the Worlds.

Italy, the fifth place finishers from the 2015 World Championships and European silver medallists, have had a good start to their season. They have played Norway twice in friendlies, winning one game and losing the other, both on penalties.

The Para Ice Hockey Tournament will feature round robin games between 27 February and 1 March. The semi-finals will be played on 3 March before the medal games on 4 March.

The competition will be shown live on Rai Sport channels alongside highlights and interviews. Entry to all games will be free for spectators and hundreds of school children from the surrounding areas have been invited to the Palatazzoli to watch.

Game schedule (all times CET)

Monday, 27 February

10am: Italy v Norway

3pm: Canada v South Korea

Tuesday, 28 February

10am: Canada v Italy

3pm: Norway v South Korea

Wednesday, 1 March

10am: South Korea v Italy

3pm: Norway v Canada

Friday, 3 March

10am: semi-final 1 (with Italy)

3pm: semi-final 2

Saturday, 4 March

10am: final 1

1pm: final 2

The Gangneung 2017 World Championships A-Pool which will also act as the Test Event for the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games.

The competition will see the top five teams qualify for PyeongChang 2018, with the rest going on to the Qualification Tournament later in 2017.

World and Paralympic champions the USA, Worlds silver medallists Canada, Norway, Italy, Germany, South Korea and Sweden are expected to compete.