Switzerland’s Marcel Hug kicks off Dubai Grand Prix with a win

World silver medallist Hug and Paralympic champion Chentouf triumph on first day’s action in the United Arab Emirates 18 Mar 2016
Man in red jersey with silver helmet and a Swiss flag smiling to the camera

Marcel Hug showed an impressive performance winning the men's 5000m T54 race at Swansea 2014 IPC Athletics European Championships

ⒸSporting Wales

Switzerland’s world silver medallist Marcel Hug and Morocco’s Paralympic champion El Amin Chentouf were among the winners on the opening day of competition (Thursday 17 March) at the 8th Fazza IPC Athletics Grand Prix in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Hug – who takes on six events in the Middle East over the four days of competition – opened his campaign with victory in the men’s 5,000m T54.

Winner in the same event at the Dubai Police Officer’s Club track just over a year ago, this time the 30-year-old saw off a field including Japan’s Kota Hokinoue and Germany’s Alhassane Balde as he crossed the line in 10:28.78.

The ‘B’ final was won by Russian Alexey Bychenok in 10:50.34.

Chentouf (3:57.44) finished well clear of his rivals to win the men’s 1,500m T12. Turkey’s Mehmet Nesim Oner and Oguz Akbulut took second and third, respectively.

There was a Kenyan one-two in the men’s 1,500m T11 as world record holder Samuel Muchai Kimani (4:16.07) crossed the line ahead of Wilson Bii.

World silver medallist Abdellatif Baka of Algeria took the win in the men’s 1,500m T13 (3:54.51), and his countryman Madjid Djemai triumphed in the 1,500m T37 (4:27.32). Uzbekistan’s Murodelloev Marufjon finished first in the 1,500m T46/47 (4:03.95).

Japan filled the podium in the men’s 1,500m T20, as Keiya Kobayashi (4:10.65) took the top spot ahead of Yaya Kimura (4:11.57) and Kuniaki Ishii (4:12.31).

In the women’s middle distance races, Columbia’s Maritza Arango Biutrago won the 1,500m T11 (4:49.75); Mexico’s Daniela Eugenia Velasco Maldonado was first in the 1,500m T12 (4:53.09) and Japan’s Misaki Ari took the 1,500m T20 (5:13.91).

The women’s 5,000m T54 was won by Margriet van den Broek of the Netherlands (13:11.47).

Frenchman Julien Casoli got the better of Dutch European champion Kenny van Weeghel in the men’s 400m T54 ‘A’ final (48.48), while Switzerland’s Bosch Beat (T52) took the tape in the men’s 400m T51/52 (1:06.81).

Rosemary Little of Australia won the women’s 400m T34 (1:04.37), and Turkey’s Hamide Kurt triumphed in the 400m T53 (58.50).

There were also a number of 100m races out on the track.

In the 100m T12, Azerbaijan’s Elmir Jabrayilov won the ‘A’ final (11.39). His compatriot Rza Osmanov won the ‘B’ Final (11.59), and Uzbekisthan’s Abdirashidov Mansur won the ‘C’ race (11.30).

Bulgaria’s Radoslav Zlatanov led the way in the 100m T13 races (11.25) – Iranian Omid Zarifsanayei won the ‘B’ Final (11.75).

There were wins too for Dutchman Jelmar Bos in the 100m T37 (12.11) and his compatriot Ranki Oberoi in the 100m T20 (11.27); Greece’s Christos Koutoulias in the 100m T46/47 ‘A’ final (11.50) and Russia’s Alexey Kotlov in the ‘B’ final (11.25) and Iran’s Farhad Kahrizi in the men’s 100m T35/36 (12.92).

In the women’s sprints, Cameroon’s Lebog Mariette Judith won the 100m T11 (14.16); Morocco’s Sanaa Benhama won the 100m T13 (12.65); and Sweden’s Stephanie Ydstrom took the tape in the 100m T20 (13.80).

The Netherland’s Marlene van Gansewinkel (T44) was first over the line in the 100m T42/44 (13.36) with Great Britain’s Sophie Kamlish (T44) in second place (13.62). There was a convincing win for Germany’s Claudia Nicoleitzik in the 100m T35/36 (14.89) while Japan’s Sae Tsuji won the 100m T46/47 (13.07).

Field events

Algeria’s world silver medallist Lahouari Bahlaz won here last year, and he came out in top in the men’s club throw F32 once again with a final winning effort of 33.88m ahead of Russia’s Evgenii Demin (30.45m). Great Britain’s former Paralympic champion Stephen Miller had to settle for fifth place (27.25m).

A final round throw of 24.52m gave Saudi Arabia’s Asia-Oceania Championship silver medallist Radhi Alharthi the win in the men’s club throw F51.

World silver medallist Mounia Gasmi brought further success for Algeria as she won the women’s club throw F32/51 with an opening round 23.43m (1001 points).

Great Britain’s Sabrina Fortune (F20) came from behind to take the win in the shot put F12/20 with a third round effort of 12.45m (905 points) as fellow Briton Hollie Arnold (F46) won the javelin F40/41/44/46 with her second round throw of 38.55m.

Czech Republic’s Eva Berna led through all six rounds to win the shot put F35/36/37/38 with a best of 10.41m (819 points).

The women’s shot put F54 was won by Shahla Hadidi of Iran with 5.93m; Bahrain’s Rooba Alomari threw 5.73m to win the shot put F55. Mexican world silver medallist Angeles Ortiz Hernandez (F57) got the better of Algerian Nassima Saifi (F57) by just two centimetres to win the shot put F56/57 with 10.74m (998 points).

Qatar’s Abdulqadir Abdulrahman Abdulrahman followed up his gold medal finish at last week’s Asia-Oceania Championships with victory in the shot put F34. The 27-year-old managed a best of 10.73m to finish just five centimetres ahead of Morocco’s Azeddine Nouiri.

Victory in the men’s discus F11/12/13 went to Iran’s Saman Pakbaz (F12) with a best of 47.81m (1014 points), while his compatriot Mehran Nikoee Majd (F35) won the discus F35/36/37/38 with 42.69m (948 points).

India’s Sandeep topped the podium in the men’s javelin F42/44 with 50.12m (861 points) as his fellow countryman Virender (F57) won the F56/57 event with 42.21m (984 points). Russian Yan Shkulka threw 29.24m (822 points) to win the men’s javelin F40/41.

Just five centimetres separated the top two in the men’s javelin F54 as Greece’s Emmanouil Stefanoudakis won with 27.05m ahead of Belarussian Aliaksandr Tryputs.

Action continues at the Dubai Police Officer’s Club stadium on Friday 18 March with the second of four days of competition.