US athletics and cycling teams named for Rio 2016

The track and field team includes 66 athletes, whilst the cycling team features 18 athletes. 04 Jul 2016
A picture of a woman in the wheelchair on a track celebrating with her hand up

Tatyana Mcfadden of the United States celebrates as she wins gold in the Women's 800m T54 Final at the Paralympic Games in London

ⒸGetty images
By US Paralympics

US Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, has announced the 66 track and field athletes and 18 cyclists who will represent Team USA at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games

Five-time Paralympian Tatyana McFadden headlines the track and field team which features 40 men and 26 women, in addition to three guides for visually impaired athletes. This September the 11-time Paralympic medallist is aiming to become the first athlete to sweep every distance from the 100m to the marathon at the Paralympic Games with seven events. Highlighting the men’s side is Ray Martin who emerged as the most decorated US man on the track at the London 2012 Paralympic Games, winning gold in all four events he competed in.

Returning to the roster for Rio are 14 medallists from London 2012, including Paralympic champions Jeremy Campbell in men’s discus F44 and Shirley Reilly in the women’s marathon T54. Team USA won nine gold, six silver and 13 bronze for a total of 28 medals in London.

Two athletes - Allyssa Seely and Grace Norman – will compete in two sports having also been named as part of the USA’s triathlon teams for the the sport’s debut in Rio.

The team also includes four U.S. military veterans: Angela Madsen, Scot Severn, Johnnie Williams and Michael Wishnia.

In cycling Team USA will have the largest cycling team of any country at Rio 2016 due to its standout performances at major competitions over the past four years. Individual athletes were selected based on their performances at key international and domestic events throughout the 2015-2016 season.

“Our athletes and coaching staff have worked really hard on the programme over the past four years, and as a team, we’ve become the best in the world,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director for US Paralympics Cycling. “The roster includes a mix of returning athletes and new talent, which when combined, translates to one amazing team. We expect to exceed our performance from London and to see some amazing performances in Rio.”

Of the group, seven are returning Paralympians who collectively amassed 12 of the 17 US cycling medals won at the London 2012 Paralympic Games. Included among the seven are Joe Berenyi, who won gold and silver in individual events and a bronze in the team sprint in London. For former alpine skier Allison Jones, Rio will mark her eighth Paralympic Games competition between the two sports. Jones won three medals, one gold and two bronze, at the London 2012 Games.

The team is also comprised of six military veterans. They include Navy veteran Will Groulx, who transitioned to cycling after winning three Paralympic medals as a member of the ’04, ’08 and ’12 US wheelchair rugby teams; handcyclist Oz Sanchez, who won gold in the H1-4 team relay and bronze in the individual time trial in London; and Jennifer Schuble Army, won silver in the individual C4-5 500m time trial and bronze in the team sprints in London.

Three additional military veterans who will make their Games debut in Rio. They are Shawn Morelli, the reigning world champion in time trial, road race and pursuit; Tom Davis, and Scott Martin.

Other notable athletes named to the roster include time trial reigning world champion Jamie Whitmore, Ryan Boyle, who competes on the trike and won bronze in both the road race and time trial at the 2015 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships, and Jill Walsh, a retired state trooper.

Track and field team


Megan Absten T46

Femita Ayanbeku T44

Scout Bassett T42

Natalie Bieule F44

Breanna Clark T20

Kym Crosby T13

Alexa Halko T34

April Holmes T44

Kelsey LeFevour T53

Angela Madsen F56

Cheri Madsen T54

Chelsea McClammer T53

Hannah McFadden T54

Tatyana McFadden T54

Amanda McGrory T54

Cassie Mitchell F51

Kerri Morgan T52

Rachael Morrison F51

Ivonne Mosquera-Schmidt T11

Kyle Wardwell Guide

Grace Norman T44

Shirley Reilly T53

Susannah Scaroni T54

Allysa Seely T36

Taleah Williams T47

Liz Willis T44

Deja Young T46


David Blair F44

Michael Brannigan T20

David Brown T11

Jerome Avery Guide

Jeremy Campbell F44

Chaz Davis T12

AJ Digby T43

Tobi Fawehinmi T46

Josh George T53

Lex Gillette T11

Wes Williams Guide

Sam Grewe T42

Tysheem Griffin T20

Tyson Gunter T13

Jaquvis Hart T47

Erik Hightower T54

Gianfranco Iannotta T52

Desmond Jackson T42

Ayden Jent T35

Blake Leeper T43

Ray Martin T52

Trenten Merrill T44

Nick Rogers T43

Aaron Pike T54

Markeith Price T13

Austin Pruitt T34

Josh Roberts T52

Daniel Romanchuk T54

James Senbeta T54

Scot Severn F53

Brian Siemann T53

Jerome Singleton T44

Jeff Skiba T44

Nick Slade T47

Roderick Townsend T46

Steven Toyoji T52

Shaquille Vance T42

Jarryd Wallace T44

Johnnie Williams F56

Michael Wishnia F57

Hunter Woodhall T43

Regas Woods T42

Cycling team

Samantha Bosco WC5

Alicia Dana WH3

Megan Fisher WC4

Allison Jones WC2

Oksana Masters WH5

Shawn Morelli WC4

Jennifer Schuble WC5

Jill Walsh WT2

Jamie Whitmore WC3

Joseph Berenyi MC3

Ryan Boyle MT2

Thomas Davis MH4

Will Groulx MH2

Will Lachenauer MH3

Billy Lister MC1

Jeffrey Scott Martin MC4

Oscar "Oz" Sanchez MH5

Brian Sheridan MH2