Vote now for July’s Allianz Athlete of the Month

Athletics, sitting volleyball and wheelchair tennis athletes nominated 02 Aug 2018
Para athletes Kare Adenegan, Diede de Groot, Elizabeth Gomes, Morteza Mehrzadselakjani and Stefan Olsson in action

(Clockwise from top left) Gomes, Mehrzadselakjani, Adenegan, Olsson and de Groot are nominated for their July performances

ⒸGetty Images

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has revealed the shortlist for July’s Allianz Athlete of the Month, and the public can now vote for the winner on

The nominations are:

Kare Adenegan, athletics, Great Britain

Smashed Hannah Cockroft's 100m T34 world record with a time of 16.80 seconds at the Anniversary Games to become the first athlete to go sub-17 seconds in her class.

Diede de Groot, wheelchair tennis, Netherlands

Successfully defended the women´s singles title at Wimbledon before winning the doubles to become the first player to claim both titles in the same year.

Elizabeth Gomes, athletics, Brazil

Set new world records in both the women’s shot put and javelin F52 at the Berlin Grand Prix, just two weeks after breaking the discus world record in Paris.

Morteza Mehrzadselakjani, sitting volleyball, Iran

With 2.46m-tall Mehrzadselakjani at his dominant best, Iran regained the men’s world title by beating defending champions Bosnia and Herzegovina 3-0 (25-18, 25-13, 25-20) in the final.

Stefan Olsson, wheelchair tennis, Sweden

Retained the men´s singles title at Wimbledon and reached the doubles final. A week later, he partnered Belgium´s Joachim Gerard to win the doubles title at the British Open.

The public has until 12:00 (CEST) on Thursday (9 August) to vote for the athlete they want to be the Athlete of the Month for July 2018 via the International Paralympic Committee homepage.

The nominations are compiled from submissions by National Paralympic Committees (NPCs) and International Federations (IFs).

The 2018 winners are:

January – Oksana Masters, USA, Nordic skiing

February – Mac Marcoux, CAN, alpine skiing

March (Best Male) – Brian McKeever, CAN, Nordic skiing

March (Best Female) – Ekaterina Rumyantseva, NPA, Nordic skiing

March (Best Team) – Chinese wheelchair curling team

April – Gemma Collis-McCann, GBR, wheelchair fencing

May – Sareh Javanmardi, IRI, shooting

June – Sevda Altunoluk, TUR, goalball