Wheelchair rugby Europeans draw made

Defending champions Great Britain lead Group B 15 Mar 2019
wheelchair rugby players grappling for the ball

Great Britain are the reigning European wheelchair rugby champions

ⒸGetty Images

The groups have been decided for the 2019 Wheelchair Rugby European Championship Division A, set for August in Vejle, Denmark.

Teams were drawn in pairs based on their world ranking, with hosts Denmark given the choice of their group.

Defending European champions Great Britain (5) were drawn in Group B along with 2017 Europeans bronze medallists France (7), Poland (13) and Switzerland (15).

Reigning European silver medallists Sweden (6) lead Group A, joining host Denmark (8), Germany (11) and the Netherlands (19).

The European Championship will run from 7-11 August, with the two teams earning automatic qualification for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games. The next two teams that do not qualify will be invited to a final Paralympic Qualification tournament in early 2020. The two teams finishing last in the Championship will be relegated to Division B for the next Championship cycle.

“There is no doubt that the goal is to qualify the team to the Paralympic Games in Tokyo. And we really want to do it front of our own fans in Vejle,” Danish assistant coach Kurt Busk said.

Tage Schmidt, chairman of Vejle Parasport Council said: “We are bringing the city together behind this event. That means companies, stores, associations and volunteers. When the entire city is involved it also means a lot of spectators will attend the games. The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) know how to make a great tournament, our job is to get people aware and involved, so as many people as possible will come and see, what these athletes can do.”

Groups for the 2019 European Championship Division A

Group A: Sweden (6), France (7), Germany (11), the Netherlands (19)

Group B: Great Britain (5), Denmark (8), Poland (13), Switzerland (15)

(Numbers indicate current IWRF World Ranking)