Paralympic Games
06 - 17 September

Winners of Whang Youn Dai Award 2008

The Whang Youn Dai Achievement Award Committee would like to present the two recipients of the award that recognizes elite athletes that have exemplified an exceptional level of determination to overcome their adversities through sports and the Paralympic Games. The Whang Youn Dai Achievment Award will be awarded at the Closing Ceremony of the Paralympic Games by Dr. Whang and Miguel Sagarra, IPC Vice-President. 16 Sep 2008 By IPC

During the Beijing 2008 Games, nominations from 24 different countries were received. The athletes were nominated by the IPC Govening Board, Chef de Missions, and the media. The names of the six athletes that were selected in the second round of competition were as follows:

MALE: Said Gomez (Panama), Supachai Koysub (Thailand), Ron Williams (USA)

FEMALE: Cheri Blauwet (USA), Natalie Du Toit (South Africa), Natalia Partyka (Poland)

The final two winners were chosen by an independent panel of judges comprising of IPC Governing Board members earlier this morning.

The winners for the Whang Youn Dai Achievement Award are

Said Gomez of Panama (male)


Natalie Du Toit of South Africa (female)

The mission of the Whang Youn Dai Achievement Award is to enhance the will of people with a disability to overcome their adversities through the pursuit of excellence in sports and through the Paralympic Games. These two winners have shown exceptional qualities that represent this award.

Congratulations to Said Gomez and Natalie Du Toit!