IPC Extends Awards Deadline

19 May 2011 By IPC

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has extended the nomination deadline to 31 May for the prestigious Paralympic Sport and Media Awards which will take place this December in Beijing, China.

Awarded biennially to coincide with the IPC General Assembly, the awards aim to recognize excellence and achievements by athletes, officials and the media during the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games.

All IPC members are invited to submit one nomination in the Paralympic Sport Awards in the following categories:

• Best Male Athlete

• Best Female Athlete

• Best Team Performance

• Best Paralympic Games Debut

• Exemplary Paralympic Games Official

In addition IPC members are also invited to submit nominations for the Paralympic Media Award which honour members of the international media for their coverage of an athlete, team or story during the Vancouver Games. Awards are presented in the following four categories:

• Broadcast

• Written (print and online)

• Photo

• Radio

Winners in all categories will be announced in September and will then be invited by the IPC to receive their award in Beijing this December at a special ceremony.

Friday 20 May marks the deadline for nominations for the Paralympic Order, the highest tribute a person connected with the Paralympic Movement may achieve.

The award honours people who have made important contributions to the Paralympic Movement, have illustrated the Paralympic ideal through their actions, have achieved remarkable merit in Paralympic sporting world or have rendered outstanding services to the Paralympic cause.

Nomination forms for all awards are available from IPC Membership Relations Manager Miguel Monge via miguel.monge@paralympic.org. All entries must be submitted in English or with English translation.