Paralympic Games
24 August - 5 September 2021

Sport Week: Classification in boccia

The sport is divided into four different sport classes 03 Mar 2020
Argentinian boccia player throws the ball with his foot
Some boccia players such as Argentinian Mauricio Ibarbure throw the jack with their feet
ⒸLima 2019

Boccia consists of four sport classes: BC1, BC2, BC3 and BC4. All players compete in wheelchairs due to a loss of leg function, arm function and trunk stability, caused by a lack of muscle co-ordination and control.

BC1 athletes have severe activity limitations affecting their legs, arms and trunk, and typically dependent on a powered wheelchair. 

BC2 players have better trunk and arm function than those in class BC1. The abilities of their arms and hands often allow them to throw the ball overhand and underhand and with a variety of grasps. 

BC3 class athletes have significant limitations in arm and leg functions, and poor or no trunk control. They are unable to consistently grasp or release the ball and are unable to propel the ball consistently into the field of play and allowed to use a ramp with the help of a Sport Assistant. 

BC4 class contains players with non-cerebral impairments that impact muscle power, passive range of movement or limb deficiency.


•    Impaired muscle power
•    Athetosis
•    Impaired passive range of movement
•    Hypertonia
•    Limb deficiency
•    Ataxia

More information on classification in boccia can be found on BISFed’s website.