Berlin and Indianapolis join World Series 2022

Five cities confirmed in the new season as competition returns to German capital for sixth time and travel back to USA city after three years 28 Jan 2022
The view of a swimming pool complex with a swimming competition
The Europasportpark Schwimm-und Sprunghalle in Berlin has hosted the World Series since 2017
ⒸRalf Kuckuck/IDM Berlin
By World Para Swimming

The World Series will make stops in Germany and USA as two more legs of the 2022 season have been announced by World Para Swimming. 

German capital Berlin will host the World Series from 31 March to 1 April. Indianapolis will receive the competition from 7 to 9 April.

Berlin has been part of the World Series since the inaugural season in 2017. In 2020, the event marked the return of the World Series after the COVID-19 pandemic forced the postponement of Para swimming competitions.

Last year, 240 athletes from 48 countries competed at Europasportpark Schwimm-und Sprunghalle. One of the most traditional Para swimming venues in the world, it has hosted international events in the sport for almost four decades.

The Indiana University (IU) Natatorium in Indianapolis will be home to the World Series for the fourth time, and the first since 2019. 

The Natatorium is the largest, permanent swimming competition facility in USA and it is also considered one of the fastest swimming pools in the country.


Five cities have already been confirmed in the Para Swimming World Series 2022. The season kicks off in Aberdeen, Great Britain on 17 February. Melbourne, Australia and Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy are the other two stops in the season.

All host cities have signed multi-year agreements with World Para Swimming for the whole cycle until the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games.

More information is available on the Para Swimming World Series 2022 page.

You can find the Para Swimming World Series 2022 calendar below.


World Series Great Britain Aberdeen, Great Britain 17-20 February
World Series Australia Melbourne, Australia 18-20 February
World Series
Lignano Sabbiadoro
Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy 11-13 March
World Series Berlin Germany Berlin, Germany 31 March-3 April
World Series Indianapolis Indianapolis, USA 7-9 April