Paralympic Games
24 August - 5 September 2021

Canada win wheelchair rugby Paralympic Qualifier

Winners and silver medallists France secure spot at 2020 Paralympic Games 14 Mar 2020
Zak Madell of Canada in action during the Men's Wheelchair Rugby Bronze Medal match against Japan
Zak Madell was instrumental in Canada achieving qualification for Tokyo 2020
ⒸGetty Images

After five days of hard fought competition at the 2020 Paralympic Qualification tournament, Canada and France have secured the final two spots for wheelchair rugby at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics.

Held at the Richmond Olympic Oval in Richmond, British Columbia, from 4-8 March, the seven countries represented at the event were Brazil, hosts Canada, Colombia, France, Germany, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The first four-days of play featured a round-robin format with all seven teams playing each other. On the final day of competition, the top four teams played in two finals, with the winners of each match awarded a ticket to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.

France was the first team to qualify for Tokyo, after dominating the Germans 54-30.

In the days second final, undefeated Canada took on Colombia, achieving a strong 57-46 win, and a coveted trip to Tokyo.

The other six countries who have qualified are Australia, Denmark, Great Britain, New Zealand, United States, and host country Japan. 

More information is available on the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation's website. 


1. Canada (7-0)
2. France (6-1)
3. Germany (4-3)
4. Colombia (3-4)
5. Sweden(2-4)
6. Switzerland (1-5)
7. Brazil (0-6)