Five fast facts: World Sledge Hockey Challenge

Here is a quick list of things to know prior to watching the four-team sledge hockey tournament. 04 Dec 2016
Canada and South Korea's ice sledge hockey teams

Canada defeated South Korea, 5-2, to open their preliminary round play at the 2013 World Sledge Hockey Challenge in Toronto, Canada.

ⒸHockey Canada
By Stuart Lieberman | For the IPC

The World Sledge Hockey Challenge will take place from 4-10 December in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada featuring the hosts, South Korea, Norway and the USA.

1. Last season’s World Sledge Hockey Challenge in Bridgewater had an economic impact of almost CAD 1 million in Canada, with an estimated CAD 600,000 in economic activity injected directly into the local economy.

2. Two of host nation Canada’s players on its 19-man roster (James Dunn, Zach Savage) were born in the year 2000. During their lifetime, Canada has already won five World Sledge Hockey Challenges, the most of any country.

3. The USA’s Declan Farmer and Brody Roybal lit up the scoreboard at last season’s event, combining to put up 24 points.

4. Prior to the Sochi 2014 Paralympics, Norway had made the podium at every Paralympics in Para ice hockey since 1994. Norway has finished in second place three times at the World Sledge Hockey Challenge, but has never won the event.

5. South Korea was added to the World Sledge Hockey Challenge field for the first time in 2013 in order to help them gain experience prior to hosting the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympics.

For more information, visit Hockey Canada’s website.